Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Covering control surfaces

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Covering control surfaces

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2006, 01:22 PM
Purple Bird
My Feedback: (24)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Covering control surfaces

I have a Lanier Stinger 60 that I'm in the process of recovering. Considering it's my first time covering the question I have is...do you remove the control surfaces to recover them? If so, how do you GENTLY remove the old hinges and what is the process for putting in the new ones?

Any advice would be appreciated!

-Brad
Old 01-12-2006, 01:33 PM
touch and go
My Feedback: (11)

Default RE: Covering control surfaces

Brad, generally control surfaces are covered before they are installed on the plane. It is certainly easier to it that way. But since you are doing a recovering job you don't have that option. Consider removing the control surfaces from the plane, then recovering them and then reinstalling them. Exactly how you do that depends in part on the type of hinges that are used on the plane. If, for example, CA hinges are used you could simply use a razor blade to cut through the existing hinges to remove the control surface. When reinstalling you could install new CA hinges next to where the old ones were.
Old 01-12-2006, 02:19 PM
Stew99