Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Odd Question about computers and servos

Old 02-22-2006, 11:04 PM
YanBooth

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Odd Question about computers and servos

Hi,
I am a modeler, but also a computer enthusiest. I have a few questions for the people in the know, about servos. I want to take a computer case door, and two high power servos, and use it to open the door. The thing is, I obviously don't plan on having a reciever in my case, and a battery, that would be a hassle, and not worth it. What I want to know, is what voltages do servo's run on, and what controls how much they are open or closed? What I was hoping for was being able to have a on/off switch to control the open and closed settings, but perhaps its more complicated than that?

Thanks a LOT for help and or advice, in advance,

Yan
Old 02-23-2006, 12:01 AM
agexpert
My Feedback: (1)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Odd Question about computers and servos

Most RC servos operate at 3.6-6 volts. The problem would be in the signal or communicating with the servo. A servo is a dumb mechanical device, but it needs a signal to tell it when, how far and for how long to rotate. That is what the Rx does. for your application, there are probably better mech. actuators available that will run on the voltage from an extra HDD power cable. You could probably get it to work, but if you were to place a servo at the top of a hinged metal case door, the force needed to open it would require some pretty expensive servos, at least 4 of them, (unless you spring-loaded the door).

Maybe there are some others who have tried something like this.

Good luck!!
Old 02-23-2006, 12:19 AM
YanBooth

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

Thanks.

Thats what I was thinking after looking into it all more. But my problem, I can't find actuators!!! Any ideas?

Thanks!