Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

You ARE the weakest link...

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

You ARE the weakest link...

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2002, 05:50 AM
rc_for_me
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default You ARE the weakest link...

I have been flying for about a year now with great success and even more enjoyment.

I have no "building" experience other than the several ARF's I have assembled. I always followed the assembly manual and took for granted that everything would be as it should.

My experience both flying and assembling brought me to the point of the Kyosho Majestic. It was going to be the first time where I was really going to get into the assembly of the aircraft. In the past, I was in more of a hurry to fly than to build.

I wanted the control linkages to be as strong and tight as possible. I did'nt have the experience to change out the standard wood dowel/threaded rod pushrods, but assembled them with care. I did replace the nylon/plastic clevises with Sullivan Gold-n-Clevises

I wanted it to be perfect. I bought and used a laser incidence meter to line everything up. Set up both high and low rates with my deflection meter. To my thinking it was setup perfect.

On it's maiden flight, it took off the ground just perfectly and straight as an arrow. I only had to add two clicks of up elev to trim it out. I've always heard the expression of "it flies like it is on rails". Well, I learned first hand what that meant.

On it's third flight of the day, I was testing it's rudder only turn capability. Suddenly, it rolled fully on to its side and dove for the ground. Being only about a half-a-crash high in elevation, it augured itself quit a hole in the alfalfa field.

I hope no one ever has to feel the disenheartment of crashing a brand new aircraft.