Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Is it a old telemaster kit?

Reply

Old 02-27-2006, 10:07 PM
  #1  
whatwheel
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: salina, OK
Posts: 275
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Is it a old telemaster kit?



Just picked up a plane at garage sale, they said it was a telemaster,it's in fair shape. Ihave never had one and i cant seem to match it up with any in threds here. I has a 78" wing with a 15.5" cord,and is about 59" long, a 4" wide cabin and what looks like very large tail feathers, fairly long nose moment and front winshield post with no forward slant.

If this one of the telemasters would any one know engine size, cg. and control throws to try.

Thanks very much for any help,

Glenn.
whatwheel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 10:31 AM
  #2  
Primodus
Senior Member
My Feedback: (56)
 
Primodus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fayette, AL
Posts: 1,183
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Is it a old telemaster kit?

Got any pics?
Primodus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 07:12 PM
  #3  
w8ye
My Feedback: (16)
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,564
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Is it a old telemaster kit?

RCM SENIOR TELEMASTER

Our Price $18.50

by Alexander Engel,

95" span, 1313 sq. in., .60-.80, 4 ch., built-up balsa, plywood, and spruce, two sheets (2) 29-1/4" x 65-3/4",

Issue: RCM 10-75,
w8ye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 09:07 PM
  #4  
whatwheel
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: salina, OK
Posts: 275
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Is it a old telemaster kit?



Iam not set up for pictures, I wish i knew if any of the known telemasters had a 15.5'' cord and a 78'' wing. i wonder if they clipped the wing? it has telemaster wing tips.

I will just dress it up take a guess on engine size and have some fun-------i hope.

Thanks for your reply, Glenn.
whatwheel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 09:18 PM
  #5  
w8ye
My Feedback: (16)
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,564
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Is it a old telemaster kit?

A Senior Telemaster has a 95" wing and a 13.82" chord

Telemaster 40 specs: 73" wing span, 848 sq. in. wing area. 53-1/2" long fuselage
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ig11100.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	63.1 KB
ID:	417673  
w8ye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 09:55 PM
  #6  
Primodus
Senior Member
My Feedback: (56)
 
Primodus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fayette, AL
Posts: 1,183
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Is it a old telemaster kit?

perhaps it isnt a telemaster after all. Maybe it is a Sig style kit?
Primodus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 09:58 PM
  #7  
Primodus
Senior Member
My Feedback: (56)
 
Primodus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fayette, AL
Posts: 1,183
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Is it a old telemaster kit?

Try the Sig Kadet Senior. 78" WS....huge chord....takes a .40 to fly on the high side. go to www.sigmfg.com and click on Sig R/C BIY Airplane Kits under Airplanes to see a listing, then choose the Kadet Senior.
Primodus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 10:12 PM
  #8  
w8ye
My Feedback: (16)
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,564
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Is it a old telemaster kit?

Picture of a Kadet Senior

Wingspan: 78"
Chord 14 3/4"
Weight: 6 lbs
Wing Area: 1150 sq in
Fuselage Length: 62"
Wing Loading: 12 oz/sq ft
Airfoil: Flat-Bottom High-Wing
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Hf10281.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	8.3 KB
ID:	417706  
w8ye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 10:29 PM
  #9  
whatwheel
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: salina, OK
Posts: 275
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Is it a old telemaster kit?



Yes ,I think it is a kadet senior, there is no leading edge cap strip,the side cabin rear window back edge is square and not curved as in current kadet, and nose around engine is not as streamlined, must be older Sig kit.
Thanks for your time guys, Glenn.
whatwheel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 10:32 PM
  #10  
w8ye
My Feedback: (16)
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,564
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Is it a old telemaster kit?

If you are happy - We are happy

w8ye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 11:28 PM
  #11  
Primodus
Senior Member
My Feedback: (56)
 
Primodus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fayette, AL
Posts: 1,183
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Is it a old telemaster kit?

Good luck on the maiden. Let us know how it turns out.
Primodus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2006, 06:12 AM
  #12  
jetmech05
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 4,855
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Is it a old telemaster kit?

it could be a flying king does the cowl have an air intake below the spinner and on each side? and does the cowl have cheek blisters?
jetmech05 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2006, 11:15 AM
  #13  
whatwheel
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: salina, OK
Posts: 275
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Is it a old telemaster kit?



Hi, This plane does not have a cowl, the engine mounts upright and the old mount is small, I don't think it would take a 60, the engine compartment has a bottom that goes all the way to the front, wing area is about 1170 with about a 78-79 span and like i said big tail feathers. Old kadet kit ? I will have some fun with it.

Thanks for your reply, Glenn.
whatwheel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2006, 04:49 AM
  #14  
rtn9105
My Feedback: (35)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Hutchinson, MN
Posts: 869
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Is it a old telemaster kit?

Here's a picture of a Kadet Senior Kit not the ARF and a link to a build page of one of these planes http://www.ncn.net/~chasnoble/rc/kadet.html
This plane flies great with a .40-.46 size engine.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Us55292.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	60.9 KB
ID:	420481  
rtn9105 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2006, 06:55 AM
  #15  
whatwheel
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: salina, OK
Posts: 275
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Is it a old telemaster kit?



Thats it, thanks a lot for your reply.
Glenn.
whatwheel is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service