Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Futaba 9C set up question

Reply

Old 03-02-2006, 01:49 PM
  #1  
P-47guy
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Merritt Island, FL
Posts: 61
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba 9C set up question

Does anyone know if it is possible to program the Futaba 9C such that at the flip of a switch, the flaps will slowly deploy (over say 2-3 seconds) to a predetermined setting, ie fully extended?

If so, how?
P-47guy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2006, 03:13 PM
  #2  
firstplaceaviator
My Feedback: (27)
 
firstplaceaviator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Norton, OH
Posts: 737
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 9C set up question

I have been flying Heli's and 3D and scale airplanes with a 9CHP for about 4 years.
I don't think there is a way to slow the servos down. But, I could be wrong!

You can use a servo slower from Bluepoint Engineering. http://www.bpesolutions.com/rcequip.html
I have one installed the flaps on my Top Flight Cessna 182.
It works good and really looks cool when the flaps are slowly deployed on the groud!

But, I still have to trim down elevator manually with flap deployment. It is difficult to fly it realistically with this set up.
as, the airplane wants to climb while the flaps are coming down
So, there are pros and cons to using it.

On a warbird, I would try using a 3 position switch and P-mixes to set the elevator/flap mixing for each position.

Position 1. Flaps up, Position 2. Flaps at 40% deployment, Position 3. Flaps at full deployment

Ultimately, that will give you the most realistic deployment in flight.
As, you can set one position, wait for the plane to slow. Then go to position full flap when the plane has slowed to the proper speed
It will probably take a full afternoon of trial and error and error to get it right.

Good luck!
Doug
firstplaceaviator is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2006, 03:24 PM
  #3  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,376
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 9C set up question

The channel 3 has a function to slow down the servo, I believe to setup airplanes to behave like they have turbine lag.

There's a long faq on futabas web site that details making channel 3 the channel you want to slow down then mixing another channel to make it the throttle.

http://www.futaba-rc.com/faq/faq-9c-q762.html

Page 58 of the manual describes the throttle delay function.
BarracudaHockey is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2006, 03:39 PM
  #4  
P-47guy
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Merritt Island, FL
Posts: 61
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 9C set up question

Thanks!

I currently have a TF 60 size P-47 with flaps on the channel 6 knob of my Futaba 6XAs. And rather than turn the knob to deploy flaps, I'd like to just flip a switch.

This model does not have a tendancy to balloon when the flaps come down, the most noticable effect of flaps on this plane is the reduction in airspeed, it slows down incredibally without loss of control or tip stalling. Granted, with gear and flaps down, 20-25% throttle, I'm not doing crazy manouvers!
P-47guy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2006, 04:10 PM
  #5  
firstplaceaviator
My Feedback: (27)
 
firstplaceaviator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Norton, OH
Posts: 737
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 9C set up question

COOL!
After 4 years of using the 9CHP, I am still learning!
Now, if I can just figure out how to use the beer and coffee maker functions!

Guess I don't need that 14MZ quite yet..........

Thanks barracudahockey,
Doug
firstplaceaviator is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2006, 07:16 PM
  #6  
daveopam
My Feedback: (9)
 
daveopam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: ELK CITY, OK
Posts: 7,464
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 9C set up question

I think I would use one of the sliders on the 9C. It could be pushed at the right speed with your finger.

David
daveopam is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service