Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Hitec servo programmer question

Reply

Old 03-03-2006, 12:25 AM
  #1  
rtn9105
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (35)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Hutchinson, MN
Posts: 869
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec servo programmer question

I've been thinking about buying the Hitec digital servo programmer. Tower Hobbies lists it as follows (Hitec Servo Testor/Digital Programmer. Works for all brands of servos)

Does this mean that it can be used to program all brands of digital servos or that it can be used to test all brands of servos? Also can it be used to test non-digital servos?
rtn9105 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2006, 01:31 AM
  #2  
redfox435cat
Senior Member
 
redfox435cat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lompoc , CA
Posts: 1,469
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec servo programmer question

what there to program on the servo? a digital servo is simple a servo with a digital amp instead of an analog amp. the way the signal is read and interpreted is no different?[sm=confused.gif]
the the only thing I could think of is rotation of the servo and maybe center point. but that all done right by machanics and a computer radio. just seems like a waste of 150 bucks. to each his own I guess
redfox435cat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2006, 01:49 AM
  #3  
rtn9105
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (35)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Hutchinson, MN
Posts: 869
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec servo programmer question

The Hitec digital servos are EPA, Speed Directional and Fail-Safe Programmable.
These adjustments can’t really be made correctly in the TX programming when using more than one servo on a single control surface.
There's some very good info about this in the videos at the following link.
http://www.downonthedeck.com/videos_instruction.htm
rtn9105 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2006, 10:45 AM
  #4  
Lowlevlflyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Davis, OK
Posts: 896
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec servo programmer question

Totally wrong. Digital servos have programmable end points, direction of rotation, deadband width, speed, failsafe, and center point functions. None of these can be accurately programmed on your radio to the point that all the servos will be equal. It's true that you can use a digital servo without programming it, but you will not realize the true value of having digitals until you are able to access all the functions with the programmer.
ORIGINAL: redfox435cat

what there to program on the servo? a digital servo is simple a servo with a digital amp instead of an analog amp. the way the signal is read and interpreted is no different?[sm=confused.gif]
the the only thing I could think of is rotation of the servo and maybe center point. but that all done right by machanics and a computer radio. just seems like a waste of 150 bucks. to each his own I guess
Lowlevlflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2006, 10:46 AM
  #5  
MustangFan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 583
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec servo programmer question

The programmer programs the HITEC Digitals Only ... other servos are not programmable.
The Unit will test "ALL" types for servos and can be used during setup.
Has some nice features.
1.) Can Measures the msec signal from the receiver to be used for setup
2.) Can measure and hold the lowest receiver voltage during cycling the servos ... good for testing binding linkage.
3.) You can output any msec signal to the servo and check the operation ( eliminates using the transmitter for setup)
4.) Has a continuous cycling mode ... I use for burn-in testing of new servos.

The HITEC digital servos can be programmed for:
1.) End point ... they can be programmed to go 90 degrees from center or 180 degrees total ( actually a little over if you ever needed)
2.) Speed .. they can be slowed down ... no need for servo-slow ... good for flaps and landing gear ... especiall going 180 degrees.
3.) Center position ... no need for match boxes
4.) Fail safe ... if your radio doesn't have this function
5.) Dead Band ... good if two servos ganged together and are "fighting " each other at center point.
6.) Direction ... no need for servo-reverse on "Y-ed" connections.

Hope this helps
MustangFan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2006, 07:08 PM
  #6  
rtn9105
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (35)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Hutchinson, MN
Posts: 869
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec servo programmer question

Thanks for the info, that helps allot. I think that pretty much made my decision.
rtn9105 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2006, 11:12 PM
  #7  
Don M.
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Don M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Halifax, NS, CANADA
Posts: 1,848
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec servo programmer question

Now if you can just find one to buy and if you do make sure it will program the V1.04 servos.
Don M. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2006, 02:42 AM
  #8  
rtn9105
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (35)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Hutchinson, MN
Posts: 869
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec servo programmer question

Don M, I've found a couple of the mail order places that have them in stock. How do I know if they will program the V1.04 servos?
rtn9105 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2006, 06:27 AM
  #9  
Don M.
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Don M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Halifax, NS, CANADA
Posts: 1,848
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec servo programmer question


ORIGINAL: rtn9105

Don M, I've found a couple of the mail order places that have them in stock. How do I know if they will program the V1.04 servos?

Check out the Hitec Radio support thread on here, Mike Glavin describes it all there.

Where did you find some, I want one too.
Don M. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2006, 11:00 AM
  #10  
Lowlevlflyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Davis, OK
Posts: 896
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec servo programmer question

Dont worry too much about the version 1.04. IF all you can find is the earlier version (1.02 I think), Hitec has a deal right now where you can send it in to them and get the upgrade done for free, if you dont mind being without it for a couple weeks. I bought mine about three weeks ago, and as far as I know, I got the only one in the state of Oklahoma, and I STILL have to send it in and get the upgrade done. They are very hard to come by right now.
Lowlevlflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2006, 03:24 AM
  #11  
rtn9105
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (35)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Hutchinson, MN
Posts: 869
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec servo programmer question

None of these sites are listing the programmer as sold out and they all allowed me to put it into the shopping cart so I believe they have them in stock.

http://www.maxxprod.com/mpi/mpi-14.html
http://www.donalds-hobby.com/Prod/sc...?idCategory=79
http://www.shopatron.com/product/pro...RCD44410/110.0
http://www.fusionhobbies.com/accessories/servos.htm
http://www.robotzone.com/customer/pr...&cat=19&page=1
http://www.helicopters-online.com/ac...ml&CatalogBody
rtn9105 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2006, 06:02 AM
  #12  
Don M.
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Don M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Halifax, NS, CANADA
Posts: 1,848
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec servo programmer question

I would call or e - mail first. I ordered from 2 places that DIDN'T say that it wasn't in stock only to get an email later that said " sorry we are out of stock on that item would you like us to back order it for you" [:'(] This was after I gave them all my info ( including Visa # ) then I had to e - mail and cancel order. Then I ordered it from a place that said THEY DID have it in stock and e - mailed me 2 days later and said that they DIDN"T [:'(]. In frustration I just ordered it from my LHS and when it comes it comes.

For example here is an answer I got back from Maxx Products ( One of the ones on your list )



We do not have the programmers in stock. They have been out of stock for awhile. At this time we do not know when we will be getting them in.

Arcelia

Don Menchions <dmenchions@qiniq.com> wrote:
I understand that they are in short supply so I would like to check if you have any Hitec Servo Programmers in stock before I order. If not when do you expect them.


Thank You ........................




My only problem is that when they come back into stock I may get a bunch.

Don M. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2006, 09:56 AM
  #13  
Lowlevlflyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Davis, OK
Posts: 896
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec servo programmer question

Yes, definitely email them or call them BEFORE you order, because I can almost guarantee you they dont have them in stock, regardless of what their website's say. Even the Hitec factory website has it listed as "limited availability", so that should tell you something right there.
Lowlevlflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service