Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

buddy box setup.

Reply

Old 03-16-2006, 07:48 AM
  #1  
Test005
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Test005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ţo, FINLAND
Posts: 1,044
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default buddy box setup.

Hi
I have a Futaba 9c and my friend have a Futaba 7.
Are there any difficulties connecting and setting these up for buddy box flying?
I seem to have misplaced my manual so if somebody could help it'd be greatly appreaciated.

I have a trainer airplane flown and trimmed on the Futaba 9 radio. The idea here is to get my friends F7 to act as "buddy box" so we can get him started in RC flying.


ps. I use the switch on the right shoulder for throttle cut, can the student on-off switch be allocated to somewhere else?
Test005 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2006, 12:25 PM
  #2  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: buddy box setup. (FF9-FF7)

Should be no problem.

As to your "PS", I don't know
MinnFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2006, 01:07 PM
  #3  
Hill202
My Feedback: (24)
 
Hill202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 1,351
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: buddy box setup. (FF9-FF7)

I'm pretty sure all switches on the 9c are assignable to any function
Hill202 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2006, 01:30 PM
  #4  
burgh_guy61
Senior Member
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Trafford, PA
Posts: 252
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: buddy box setup. (FF9-FF7)

Just food for thought.....The trainer switch on the spring loaded toggle is a good idea, you just let go to take control not have to throw a snap-able switch.
burgh_guy61 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2006, 04:54 PM
  #5  
Test005
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Test005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ţo, FINLAND
Posts: 1,044
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: buddy box setup. (FF9-FF7)

Thanks, We need to buy that cable and then try to set it up.
As I can't find my manual to the FF9 I was looking for some pointers what to set up in the radio?

As for the spring loaded switch. It's on the right shoulder of the radio and holding it mean no fingers on the elev/ail stick.
I rather have the "student switch" somewhere on the left hand side of the radio so I can hold on to the elev/ail stick all the time.
Test005 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2006, 04:09 AM
  #6  
Test005
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Test005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ţo, FINLAND
Posts: 1,044
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: buddy box setup. (FF9-FF7)

Guys, I turned my hobbyroom upside down and found the FF9 manual last night.

The trainer switch seem to be non-configurable and is allocated to "F". this is good, because "F" is on the left shoulder on my radio (diffrence between FF9 chp & cap)
The configuration seem pretty simple, turn all channels to "func" and activate Trainer mode.
Test005 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 02:51 PM
  #7  
Test005
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Test005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ţo, FINLAND
Posts: 1,044
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: buddy box setup. (FF9-FF7)

New question:

Does a buddy box need it's own battery?
I got an idea to buy a simple 4ch Futaba TX and a trainer cable to use as buddy box system so my friends can try to fly (possibly lure them into the RC hobby )
Can I order the TX without battery pack or does a buddy box require own battery?
Test005 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2006, 04:10 PM
  #8  
jaka
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Upplands Vasby, SWEDEN
Posts: 7,790
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: buddy box setup. (FF9-FF7)

Hi!
No battery is needed.

Regards!
Jan K
jaka is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 09:44 AM
  #9  
Test005
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Test005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ţo, FINLAND
Posts: 1,044
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: buddy box setup.

Today I got a Futaba 4EXA TX and a trainer cable.
Connected to my FF9 it works great...

Thanks for your input guys, appreaciated
Test005 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service