Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

60 size GP Aeromaster ??

Reply

Old 01-14-2003, 02:10 AM
  #1  
bwindrum
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Comox, BC, CANADA
Posts: 75
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 60 size GP Aeromaster ??

I'm considering buying a Great Planes 60 size Aeromaster and am wondering if anyone has any imput on them, any info will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
Bob
bwindrum is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2003, 03:16 AM
  #2  
blvdbuzzard
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: high deserts, CA
Posts: 3,704
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 60 size GP Aeromaster ??

I have built 3 of them. First one was per instructions. Long span swept back wings. I hated the scarf joints. Second one I built I did the fuse per plane but cut foam cores for the wings. Third one was a scratch built with foam core wings and a fuse that used lots of lighter weight balsa.

I powered them with a K&B .65, ASp .61, ST.61, O.S. 70fs, Saito 1.20fs. The 120 was to heavy but had loads of veritcal. The 70 was to wimpy but flew like a PT-17 trainer. The .61's worked pretty good. With the .752c or a good 90fs engines out there I think that they would be a good choice.

All of them flew very well. They can float in or tear up the sky. I liked it when I had some big ole ballon tires on it. It looked like a bush plane. When you do build it go with a servo for each ali and go with 1 ali on each wing. It would do some crazy snap rolls.

Dru.
blvdbuzzard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2003, 06:39 PM
  #3  
KrisG
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Izegem, BELGIUM
Posts: 195
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 60 size GP Aeromaster ??

I have one with a Super Tigre S61K, turning a 13x8 Master Airscrew. It flies very well, but don't expect it to fly pattern-style ( i.e. not really "go where you point it").

Mine is with the short span wing and straight lower wing.

Glide on landing approach is better than you can normally expect from a biplane.

Same recommendation : use one servo per aileron. If I could do this again, I would also put ailerons in the top wing. The roll rate as it is, is not very high, not even with a lot of aileron deflection. This is not a Pitts or an Ultimate! Also, I did not think that knife edge performance was as great as advertised : pitch and yaw coupling with rudder input, so that's a little bit tricky. My CG is at the most rearward position, so that should not be too bad for knife edge.

A great looking airplane, realistic flight, easy transport because of compact dimensions for a 60 size plane.

Recommended!

Kris

I'll post a pic if I find a digitized one. I am just in love with the looks of this plane.
KrisG is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2003, 06:42 PM
  #4  
bwindrum
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Comox, BC, CANADA
Posts: 75
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 60 size GP Aeromaster ??

Thanks for the info guys
bwindrum is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2003, 06:51 PM
  #5  
KrisG
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Izegem, BELGIUM
Posts: 195
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 60 size GP Aeromaster ??

I found 2. Here's pic #1.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	47284_19267.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	42.8 KB
ID:	29208  
KrisG is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2003, 06:53 PM
  #6  
KrisG
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Izegem, BELGIUM
Posts: 195
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 60 size GP Aeromaster ??

and here's the second one.

Build this classic, and have fun!

Kris
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	47287_19267.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	26.6 KB
ID:	29209  
KrisG is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2003, 07:11 PM
  #7  
bwindrum
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Comox, BC, CANADA
Posts: 75
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 60 size GP Aeromaster ??

Thanks for the pics Kris. Can't help notice the lack of outer wing braces. Is this typical ??

Thanks,
Bob
bwindrum is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2003, 09:03 PM
  #8  
KrisG
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Izegem, BELGIUM
Posts: 195
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 60 size GP Aeromaster ??

Bob,

According to the plan/kit, outer wing braces are optional ( i.e. cosmetic).The wing is sufficiently stiff ro fly without them, and if I can avoid additional weight and/or complexity, I can't help but do it .

I once flew a Hal DeBolt Acrobat that needed them : when I rolled, the wingtip of the top wing touched the one of the bottom wing Top wing was held in place with a lot of rubber bands, bottom one with nylon bolts.

best regards,

Kris
KrisG is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service