Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

C/A hinge installation

Old 01-15-2003, 03:27 AM
RTC

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default C/A hinge installation

I am a beginner to the RC airplane hobby and have a couple questions. I am building my first two ARF planes (trainer and stick) and have progressed to the control surface installation. Both sets of instructions indicate the hinges have already been glued into the control surfaces. They were not. So, I marked the center line of each hinge with a pencil and glued them into each control surface (rudder, elevator, and ailerons) using thin C/A. The control surfaces have not been mounted on the airplane yet. The thin C/A wicked up each hinge approximately 75% to the top of the exposed region of each hinge during this procedure. My first question is:

1. Does the hardened C/A on the exposed hinge impact the integrity of the bond subsequent to installing each control surface in the wings, vertical, and horzintal stabilizer?

My second question involves placing pins in the C/A hinges. Although the directions do not recommend placing pins in the hinges, an experienced model builder recommended placing pins in each hinge. He suggested drilling a small holes and pinning each hinge with a toothpick and epoxy. My second question(s) is:

2. Do other experinced modelers concur with this recommendation? Do all the control surfaces require pins or just the elevator?
Old 01-15-2003, 04:05 AM
DMcQuinn
My Feedback: (13)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Proper way to install CA hinges

The correct approach is to:
1) Mark the CA hinge with a crayon at the middle of the hinge (where it will bend). The wax of the crayon keeps this part flexible, and the color helps you make sure the hinge is inserted equally into both pieces.