Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Canopy Glue?

Reply

Old 10-06-2006, 06:25 AM
  #1  
BANJOAIRPLANE
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: BURLINGTON, NC
Posts: 290
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Canopy Glue?

Ok,Ok,I know this has been posted before,but I am too lazy to search for the post.[X(] I am assembling an arf Twist and didn't pick up any canopy glue at the lhs.Is there something I can use as an alternative?I thought about double sided tape and servo screws!
Any info would be appreciated and thanks.
BANJOAIRPLANE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 08:58 AM
  #2  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Canopy Glue?

You can use CA (I did for years), but it can fog the canopy, and you need to be really careful to get it right the first time.

But instead of double-sided tape, you can just use 1/4" pinstripe tape (From the Auto Section of any dept store) and a few screws for good measure.
MinnFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 09:06 AM
  #3  
BANJOAIRPLANE
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: BURLINGTON, NC
Posts: 290
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Canopy Glue?

Thanks Mike.I asume you use the trim tape along the outside edge of the canopy overlapping to the fuse?
BANJOAIRPLANE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 09:09 AM
  #4  
vicman
My Feedback: (10)
 
vicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 9,910
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Canopy Glue?

I use screws whenever possible. Never know you might get tired of the ugly or goofy pilot and want to change. Hot melt glue does not hold up to fuel very well - don't ask.
vicman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 09:16 AM
  #5  
BANJOAIRPLANE
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: BURLINGTON, NC
Posts: 290
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Canopy Glue?

Thanks Vic.Nothing but screws it is! I hate glue.[:@]
BANJOAIRPLANE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 09:26 AM
  #6  
vicman
My Feedback: (10)
 
vicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 9,910
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Canopy Glue?

Ask Rog for a few of his tiny servo screws and wick some thin ca into the threads (canopy off of course).
vicman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 09:33 AM
  #7  
BANJOAIRPLANE
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: BURLINGTON, NC
Posts: 290
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Canopy Glue?

I got several at home.I ain't heard from Rog this morning.He must be getting his beauty sleep.I got epoxy and ca all over my fingers this morning.I got it in the right places on the plane though!
BANJOAIRPLANE is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service