Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

A few questions from a newbie

Old 01-15-2003, 04:38 PM
Deadeye

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default A few questions from a newbie

Hi guys,
I'm fairly new to this wonderful hobby (September 2002), and can usually get through questions on my own, but there are a few that I just can't seem to grasp:

1) On my Futaba 6XA, they talk about trim memory in the book. I have messed with it a little, but when I enter the memory, and then move the trim back to nuetral, it messes up the trim on my 4 star 60. Do I need more than one model in memory for this to work?

2) The first kit I built was/is a Sporstster 60 from Great Planes. It's almost done, but I think I goofed the tail a little, I think my horizontal stab has about 1/2 degree of incidence when the plans call for 0 degrees. Will this little discrepency cause a crash? Or can it be alleviated with trim? Also, it seems the ailerons are a little small for this size plane. Anyone know from experience if those little things are enough? My 4*'s ailerons are twice as wide.

3) One of the most experienced members in my club mixes and matches Hitec and Futaba recievers, and servos and has so for years with no problems. Can you also mix the crystals? A Futaba crystal in a Hitec reciever?

4) I see L shaped rods coming out of the needle valve assembly on a lot of engines. I know they are there for easier adjustment. My question is can that be added to most needle valves, or is that something that has to be factory installed? If they can be added, how?

5) Will true silicone be eaten by glow fuel? I read a post where a guy uses clear true (not latex) silicone for his canopies. Is this a good idea?