Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Bi-plane aileron set-up with 4 servos? brain teaser.

Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Bi-plane aileron set-up with 4 servos? brain teaser.

Reply

Old 10-13-2006, 06:53 PM
  #1  
Capt Jim
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (168)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lehigh Acres, FL
Posts: 1,150
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Bi-plane aileron set-up with 4 servos? brain teaser.

Which set-up is correct...and why?
The scenario is an average bi-plane, using (4) servos for aileron control...one servo per aileron, and driving those four servos from two separate channels in the receiver. The question is this...

Set-up A: One rx channel drives both left and right aileron servos on the top wing, and the other rx channel drives both left and right aileron servos on the bottom wing.

Set-up B: One rx channel drives both left side aileron servos, that is, left aileron on the top wing, and left aileron on the bottom wing. The other rx channel drives both right side servos, right aileron in the top wing and the right aileron in the bottom wing.

I guess either set-up works, but some flyers have very strong beliefs about which one is better. And your thoughts are...?
Capt Jim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2006, 07:01 PM
  #2  
alan0899
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warialda NSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,275
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bi-plane aileron set-up with 4 servos? brain teaser.

G'Day Mate,
Setup B is the right one to use, You would need a Y lead for the servos, & Flapperon setting on your TX.
Setup A won't work.
alan0899 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2006, 08:33 PM
  #3  
jeremiah__brown
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: MountAiry, GA
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bi-plane aileron set-up with 4 servos? brain teaser.

I agree with alan 0899, although if you are using a tx & rx that have atleast 8 channels then you can do it without using the y's & set either the top wing servo's or the bottom wing servo's as a slave to the other. The advantage to doing it this way is that you can make adj. to each servo seperately with your tx. It takes a little more time & thought to do it this way, but it makes it more convenient when you start trying to get all your ailerons perfectly aligned.
jeremiah__brown is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2006, 12:12 AM
  #4  
khodges
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: newton, NC
Posts: 5,443
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bi-plane aileron set-up with 4 servos? brain teaser.

I'd have to go with plan "B", also. Most radio mixes are set up for dual servos to operate left and right ailerons, so "Y-ing" the two right servos to one channel (1) and the two left servos to another channel (7) would make radio setup easier.

But why use 4 servos? Put two servos in one wing, and make a mechanical linkage from bottom to top aileron on each side. Super Stearman, WACO, Sopwith Pup, SE-5a all are done this way, plus many others. Cheaper, less battery power used and less weight out in the wings, too.
khodges is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2006, 07:26 AM
  #5  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bi-plane aileron set-up with 4 servos? brain teaser.

Sorry to disagree, but setup "A" is the correct way to go.

Reason:

IF you have a failure, one wing on each side will stop working, leaving you with one wing working on each side
MinnFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2006, 08:40 AM
  #6  
DadsToysBG
My Feedback: (35)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bowling Green, KY
Posts: 2,497
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bi-plane aileron set-up with 4 servos? brain teaser.

Set up B is the right one. It gives you diff and expo. Also if you want you can have spoilers. As far as worrying about failures. You can still fly with only one side working. Dennis
DadsToysBG is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2006, 09:53 PM
  #7  
khodges
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: newton, NC
Posts: 5,443
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bi-plane aileron set-up with 4 servos? brain teaser.


ORIGINAL: MinnFlyer



IF you have a failure, one wing on each side will stop working, leaving you with one wing working on each side
One aileron will adequately bank and level a plane. The model that was flown Transatlantic the other year only had one aileron, to save battery power. I still vote plan B, and Tx mixes are all set up to support that method; but my other thoughts on just using 2 servos is what I'd do.
khodges is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2006, 09:00 AM
  #8  
RCFlyerDan
My Feedback: (52)
 
RCFlyerDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cape Coral
Posts: 1,482
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Bi-plane aileron set-up with 4 servos? brain teaser.

Set up "B" is the correct answer too, due to the fact that if you use set up "A", you have two wings that you can't trim together. In otherwords, placing too much right trim in the upper wing will only have to be off set with too much left trim on the bottom wing in order for it to fly level. This creates excessive drag and yaw. The plane only needs one aileron out of the four, or one set on one side to fly it and get it down safely.

Keep the dirty side down!! Take Care! Dan
RCFlyerDan is online now  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service