Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Moki tunning help

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Moki tunning help

Old 01-21-2003, 04:30 AM
MichaelI.

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Moki tunning help

hello all.
i'm new to RCU, pretty cool stuff. here's my problem.
i have a Moki 1.8 hanging on a Sig Extra 300. the motor is not performing and has these awful knocks! i started with just FAI fuel and then 5% and 10% nitro. still not running right. tried different props too. i have maybe 3 gallons thru the motor.
any idea's would be appreciated. thanks guys
Old 01-21-2003, 05:10 AM
DMcQuinn
My Feedback: (13)

Default No more nitro than 5%

I have had a moki 180 for several years -- very good engine. It runs about the same on 0 nitro or 5%. No reason to go more than 5%. But that is probably not the cause of the knock. Best prop for me is 18x8. If you are used to tuning by ear a 2-stroke, you have to get used to the sound of the larger engines. even though it is a 2-stroke, it sounds lower. I am always tempted to over lean it in an attempt to get the screaming high pitch that I am used to getting on a .40 size motor. Best glow plug for me has been the (expensive) OS "F". Mine never did really run right for the first few gallons, but after about 5 gallons it now runs great. I have hundreds of flights on this engine. It has outlasted 4 airplanes. Sorry I didn't actually answer your question, but good luck.
Old 01-21-2003, 12:04 PM
TES

Had about the same problem with my Moki. I found it was sucking air in. The fix was to remove the back plate and front also and sealing them with High-Temp Silicone gasket maker. Problem went away and engine runs great now. Had a friend with same problem. His problems have also gone. Good luck.
Old 01-21-2003, 04:20 PM
Goinstraightup
My Feedback: (26)

Hey MichaelI,