Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

On-board Glow System

Reply

Old 10-26-2006, 04:05 PM
  #1  
ductedfan
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Fort Drum, NY
Posts: 54
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default On-board Glow System

I was wondering where I could find an on-board glow system. I checked Tower and can't seem to find one. Are they a thing of the past??? Thanks in advance for all of the info...
ductedfan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2006, 04:27 PM
  #2  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: On-board Glow System

If you are interested in building one, one of my visitors designed one and sent me the information.
It can be found here: http://www.geistware.com/rcmodeling/articles/obgpd.htm
ORIGINAL: ductedfan

I was wondering where I could find an on-board glow system. I checked Tower and can't seem to find one. Are they a thing of the past??? Thanks in advance for all of the info...
Geistware is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2006, 05:48 PM
  #3  
saramos
 
saramos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northridge, CA
Posts: 3,037
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: On-board Glow System

On my TF Spitfire, I use a wheel collar on my throttle linkage which activates a microswitch controlled 1.2v NiMH battery. It kicks on when the throttle is all the way down and the throttle trim is centered. It goes off when the trim is all the way down and the throttle is down. It also turns off at 1/2 throttle or higher. Not fancy, but cheap.

Scott
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Lj23359.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	59.0 KB
ID:	548758  
saramos is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2006, 07:27 PM
  #4  
Bud Faulkner
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Bud Faulkner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Mt Airy, MD
Posts: 897
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: On-board Glow System

Here ya go.
http://www.electrodynam.com/cgi-loca...5b3+1163060024
Bud Faulkner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2006, 07:37 PM
  #5  
khodges
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: newton, NC
Posts: 5,443
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: On-board Glow System

I have three of these; SuperGlo by MPI. www.maxxprod.com.
khodges is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2006, 07:39 PM
  #6  
Newc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Leesburg, IN
Posts: 1,047
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: On-board Glow System

I've got two of these, one on each engine of my Nomad.
Newc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2006, 07:47 PM
  #7  
Ed_Moorman
My Feedback: (1)
 
Ed_Moorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Shalimar, FL
Posts: 4,059
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: On-board Glow System

The commercial on-board glows work well, but are fairly expensive. In my experience they cost from $50-$75.

When my buddy and I started flying seaplanes, we wanted an on-board glow so we made one. You can buy a remote glow hook up from Maxx Products for about $12-$15. We added a micro switch from Radio Shack. The switch was either set-up on the throttle servo or on another servo and mixed to the throttle. We used our standard glow ignitor for power. It was easy to use and charge. It isn't very elegant or hi-tech, but it worked every time.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Gd93726.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	73.9 KB
ID:	548783  
Ed_Moorman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2006, 04:32 AM
  #8  
rajul
Moderator
My Feedback: (58)
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,168
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: On-board Glow System

Why do you need one? It's just a weight burden to your plane?
rajul is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2006, 05:55 AM
  #9  
LuftwaffeOberst
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Lacona, NY
Posts: 1,159
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: On-board Glow System


ORIGINAL: rajul

Why do you need one? It's just a weight burden to your plane?


Exactly... plus the guys at my club had problems with it. They suggested that I'd leave mine off the plane. JMO




Peter Dowling aka Luftwaffe Oberst
AMA District II # 865404
Aero Modelers Club
Pulaski, NY
LuftwaffeOberst is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2006, 09:17 AM
  #10  
saramos
 
saramos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northridge, CA
Posts: 3,037
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: On-board Glow System

Whether to use one or not, of course is a personal choice. I went with onboard glow for several reasons. First, the engine I used recommends the use of a remote glow because the glow plug is so close to a large prop (15" 4 blade or 18" 2 blade). Second, I wanted to avoid holes on the exterior of my plane. Third, it is a bit added protection against a dead stick. If the glow fails in flight, it's no worse than having no glow at all. Lastly, the placement of the battery in the nose helped in ballancing the plane. If I had not used an onboard glow, I would have had to add more ballast to ballance the plane anyway.
I will agree that it adds another item you have to set up, adjust, and maintain. In my case, I thought the effort was worth it.

Scott
saramos is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2006, 09:39 AM
  #11  
Bud Faulkner
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Bud Faulkner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Mt Airy, MD
Posts: 897
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: On-board Glow System

What saramos said.
I have mine in my DPM super cub with an O.S.160FT I don't like unnecessary holes in the cowl.

Bud
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Fd91632.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	125.0 KB
ID:	549227  
Bud Faulkner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2006, 03:35 PM
  #12  
Newc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Leesburg, IN
Posts: 1,047
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: On-board Glow System

I wanted to avoid holes on the exterior of my plane. Third, it is a bit added protection against a dead stick. If the glow fails in flight, it's no worse than having no glow at all. Lastly, the placement of the battery in the nose helped in ballancing the plane. If I had not used an onboard glow, I would have had to add more ballast to ballance the plane anyway.
That pretty much sums up my reasons as well, but I also add that with a twin I don't want a single engine deadstick if it is easily avoidable, my engines (YS FZ63S) are mounted inverted and therefore - also due to being four-stroke - more prone to flame out conditions, my plane is a 104" PBN Nomad and I really don't want a deadstick out on the lake since I haven't yet perfected the art of walking out to my plane on water.

Besides, I like to try new things with every plane I build, and it's one more learning exercise.
Newc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2006, 05:59 PM
  #13  
saramos
 
saramos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northridge, CA
Posts: 3,037
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: On-board Glow System

I can definitely see the further benefits in a seaplane and/or twin! I also see that the 'Ls' in balance were out of balance in my last post!

Scott
saramos is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2006, 07:11 PM
  #14  
rajul
Moderator
My Feedback: (58)
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,168
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: On-board Glow System

I see your points. You may want to check out the intelligent glow driver from Nelson http://www.nelsonhobby.com/electr.html
rajul is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2006, 02:39 AM
  #15  
kqutob
Senior Member
 
kqutob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Jerusalem, ISRAEL
Posts: 220
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: On-board Glow System

I use the Expert on board glo on three of my planes .So far no troubles
http://www.horizonhobby.com/Products...ProdID=EXRA550
kqutob is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service