Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

receiver servo limitations

Reply

Old 10-27-2006, 07:32 AM
  #1  
lakefish4
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (68)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: hot springs village, AR
Posts: 106
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default receiver servo limitations

what is the safe maximum loading one can apply to the stancard receivers. Going to larger servos and am concerned as to the receiver loading. All my receivers are dual conversion fm futaba 127's or tower 3000's or hitec 3500 or equal. There must be an actual max save operational loading but have never seen it anywhere.

I am getting into multi engine and larger servos and dont want to find out the hard way.

Thank you for any guidance! alan ~> lakefish4@worldnet.att.net
lakefish4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2006, 07:36 AM
  #2  
exeter_acres
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
exeter_acres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Johns Creek, GA
Posts: 7,457
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: receiver servo limitations

it is more than you can plug into them....

What servos and how many?

there are people running several digi servos on giant scale planes with one RX no problem.... the power bus can handle it
exeter_acres is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2006, 05:36 PM
  #3  
lakefish4
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (68)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: hot springs village, AR
Posts: 106
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: receiver servo limitations

PROBABLY LOOKING AT

(2) STD SERVOS (HS-425) = 46 OZ/IN

(4) (HS-625) = 70 OZ/IN

(3 OR 4) (S3104 ) = 120 OZ/IN

TEN TOTAL BUT WHAT CONCERNS ME IS THE HIGHER TORQUE = HIGHER DRIVE CURRENTS AND WHAT EVENTUALLY GIVES AND HOW. SOMETHING BURN UP"? THEY BEGIN NOT TO FUNCTION? HATE TO FIND OUT IN THE AIR ON A HOT DAY I HAD ONE TOO MANY ON A SINGLE RECEIVER.

AL

PS - HEY NEIGHBOR! I WAS BORN IN MARQUETTE - WHERE IS CARLTON?
lakefish4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2006, 07:01 PM
  #4  
agexpert
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 1,229
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: receiver servo limitations

ORIGINAL: lakefish4

PROBABLY LOOKING AT

(2) STD SERVOS (HS-425) = 46 OZ/IN

(4) (HS-625) = 70 OZ/IN

(3 OR 4) (S3104 ) = 120 OZ/IN


You are nowhere near an overload. I run 9 digitals with 300 oz/in each through a single standard JR PCM RX, (I run at 6V).

(What exeter acres said)
agexpert is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2006, 10:06 PM
  #5  
lakefish4
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (68)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: hot springs village, AR
Posts: 106
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: receiver servo limitations

THANK YOU BOTH FOR YOUR INPUTS - I CAN REST EASIER NOW AND PROCEED ON COURSE. MY BEST! ALAN
lakefish4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2006, 11:01 PM
  #6  
agexpert
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 1,229
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: receiver servo limitations

STOP YELLING AT US...turn off caps.

Good Luck!
agexpert is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2006, 11:20 PM
  #7  
wildchild45177
Senior Member
My Feedback: (11)
 
wildchild45177's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: wilmington, OH
Posts: 476
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: receiver servo limitations

I am running four S9252, two S3151, and one S9151 with a 1500Mah NICAD, through a 127 receiver, and have had no problems at all. This is in a 1/4 scale gasser so you know they are getting a good workout.

Bob
wildchild45177 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2006, 01:10 PM
  #8  
scratchonly
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: winnipeg, MB, CANADA
Posts: 950
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: receiver servo limitations

The limitation is the battery, not he receiver.
scratchonly is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2006, 01:13 PM
  #9  
exeter_acres
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
exeter_acres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Johns Creek, GA
Posts: 7,457
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: receiver servo limitations

Carleton is way down towards Monroe... close to Toledo... about as far from marquette as you can get!!


and yep... it is common to run 7 - 9 300oz digi servos through one rx
exeter_acres is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2006, 01:31 PM
  #10  
lakefish4
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (68)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: hot springs village, AR
Posts: 106
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: receiver servo limitations

Thank you thank you fellows ~ I can rest easy now and go about my search for servos now. Sorry!!! DIDNT MEAN TO SHOUT!!! :>)

alan
lakefish4 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service