Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

microballoons filler cure times

Old 10-28-2006, 10:03 PM
parrthd

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default microballoons filler cure times

ok just wondering what others have experienced from using microballoons.

i've been modelling for a couple years now and into kit building as well. just started using microballoons and i've found that the filler makes the epoxy cure a lot slower than normal. with just 30 minute epoxy, i've found that i can start working it (sanding, shaping, etc) in 60 minutes or less. however, with the microballoons mixed in (usually as much as the epoxy will hold- to a thick toothpaste consistency) it takes several hours to fully cure to a workable state. i've also noticed that it doesn't heat up like epoxy alone does.

my question is how long does your mixture take to set up? does it heat up? and does the balloons cause the reaction between the resin and hardener to take longer?
Old 10-29-2006, 02:12 AM
saramos

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: microballoons filler cure times

In general, the larger the amount of epoxy you have, the quicker it will set. If you have an ounce in a 1 oz container, it will set up faster than if you take that same 1 oz and spread it thin. I'm not a chemist, but suspect that the heat generated accelerates the cure, and when spread thin or in smaller amounts, it retains less heat. If you add microballoons it's like spreading the epoxy out, hence the slower curing. As for being able to tell how much longer a given batch will take to cure when adding a given amount of microballoons, that's beyond me.

Scott
Old 10-29-2006, 03:36 AM
majortom-RCU
My Feedback: (40)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback