Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Smoke system 2nd battery

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Smoke system 2nd battery

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2007, 10:09 AM
impalas
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Smoke system 2nd battery

I plan to install a TME smoke system in my KMP spitfire. This is my first attempt at smoke. I'm running a 1100 ma 6 volt battery
to handle the flight pack. I want to run a 4.8 500MA for the smoke system. The question is, can I hook both batteries through a y harness and be able to charge them through one switch or should I put a second switch in for the smoke. and charge that seperately??

Again this is my first smoke system--impalas
Old 03-16-2007, 12:49 AM
Tired Old Man

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Smoke system 2nd battery

Separate the two battery's electronics. Do not "Ywe" them. Your smoke system will work for quite a while on a 300 mAh nimh, which is small and light.

Simply unplug the smoke battery to charge it. The gear switch on your transmitter acts as the basic on and off switch. Just unplug the smoke battery when you don't intend to use it.
Old 03-16-2007, 05:55 AM
MinnFlyer
My Feedback: (4)

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

Ditto, you can't charge a 4 and 5 cell pack at the same time anyway
Old 03-16-2007, 06:50 AM
exeter_acres
My Feedback: (2)

my only concern would be the voltage......

I am not as familiar with that pump, but some pumps are pretty weak with that low of voltage......

I run mine with a 2 cell 800mAh LiPo battery
Old 03-16-2007, 09:16 AM
impalas

Thanks for the info guys. I think I got it now.... The weight should not be an issue on the spitfire. I will be adding about 1lb up front according to all the specs. i've read. I can fit the smoke pump against and under the firewall. TME states the total weight is about 12 oz. Thanks again ---impalas