Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Sheeting Foam Wings question

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Sheeting Foam Wings question

Old 03-21-2007, 11:57 AM
JRSmith
My Feedback: (47)

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Sheeting Foam Wings question

I am going to be building a model with foam wings and was wondering what glue worked the best for sheeting. I have never done this before and would like any inputs. Thanks in advance. Take it easy.

Jason
Old 03-21-2007, 12:18 PM
R8893
My Feedback: (20)

Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts
Default RE: Sheeting Foam Wings question

I've gotten good results with polyurethane glue (Gorilla Glue) for this application. Squeegee out to a very thin layer.
Old 03-21-2007, 01:19 PM
Deadeye

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

ORIGINAL: R8893

I've gotten good results with polyurethane glue (Gorilla Glue) for this application. Squeegee out to a very thin layer.
I'll add to the above comment. Depending on your ambient humidity, you may want to spritz either surface lightly with water. Clamp the wings in the shucks, and weigh them down with at least 40 pounds of weight. This stuff expands as it cures, and can push things around if you aren't careful.
Old 03-21-2007, 01:34 PM
mmattockx

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Read this tutorial before you sheet with either laminating epoxy (which is the traditional choice) or PU glues (the new favorite and also an excellent choice). Also note that there is a Lepages Pro Bond PU glue that is the same stuff as Gorilla glue for about 1/2 the cost. Available at most Home Depot type stores. Terry Brox's wing building page is the best how to I have ever seen on balsa/foam wings and should be required reading before trying it, excellent stuff...

http://www.mackrc.net/patternwings2/index.htm

Mark
Old 03-21-2007, 07:40 PM
JRSmith

Thanks for the inputs.

Jason
Old 03-21-2007, 10:29 PM
DMcQuinn
My Feedback: (13)