Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

saito 100 starting issue

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

saito 100 starting issue

Old 03-30-2007, 11:31 PM
DucatiRC

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default saito 100 starting issue

I'm new to airplane. I bought a sait 100 for my P51 mustang. I'm having problem getting it stated. I have the hi-speed needle with 4 1/2 turns out, I did not touch the low speed. The engine will not start, with the throttle open about 1mm. I notice fuel is running out of the pressure line into the muffler. I do have fuel in line into the carb.
Old 03-31-2007, 12:11 AM
alan0899

Default RE: saito 100 starting issue

G'day Mate,
If you are new to airplanes, the P51, is NOT a good place to start, you WILL crash, & that will cost you a lot of money, that's if you get the motor started.
Having said that, you must prime the motor, to get fuel into the combustion chamber, or it will never start.
Open throttle all the way, do not connect glow driver, you do have a glow driver of some sort I hope, hold a finger over the carby intake, & turn the prop over, counter clockwise, 4 turns, that will suck fuel into the carb & then into the combustion chamber. Flick the prop over another 4 or 5 times, reduce throttle to a fast idle, connect glow heat, use electric starter, to turn prop, it should start. If fuel is running out the muffler, you may have the lines backwards.
BUT, to save a whole lot of frustration, on your part, go to a club, talk to the members, get HELP.
You will not regret it, in the long run.
Old 03-31-2007, 12:22 AM
ag4ever

I just broke-in my Saito 100 this week. It started right up with no problems.