Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

consealing servos

Reply

Old 06-05-2007, 10:54 PM
  #1  
cotman
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Summerfield, FL
Posts: 335
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default consealing servos

anyone have suggustions on how I can hide the servos in the wing. Want to make them invisable if possible. Thanks
cotman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 11:11 PM
  #2  
Don41
Senior Member
 
Don41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: El Dorado, CA
Posts: 581
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: consealing servos

What plane? Are you also looking to hide the linkage?
Don41 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 11:17 PM
  #3  
cotman
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Summerfield, FL
Posts: 335
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: consealing servos

Super Decathlon
cotman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 01:09 PM
  #4  
scratchonly
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: winnipeg, MB, CANADA
Posts: 950
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: consealing servos

Mount the servos on a 1/32 ply plate with hardwood standoffs to screw the servos to with the servo laying down and tight to the ply. Cut a slot in the ply with the servo arm sticking out. Make the plate to fit between two ribs with 1/4 inch hardwood rails glued to the sideof the ribs 1/32 down (up) from the rib bottom or the sheeting; screw the ply to the rails preferably with #4 counter sunk flat head screws. You can mount the servos with both servo arms facing in or out. Servos with the same rotation will work with a Y harness as ailerons move opposite.
scratchonly is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 05:43 PM
  #5  
daveopam
My Feedback: (9)
 
daveopam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: ELK CITY, OK
Posts: 7,481
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: consealing servos

I have done it several times like Scratchonly said. It works very well and is easy to do.

David
daveopam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 03:06 PM
  #6  
mscic-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
mscic-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: New London, OH
Posts: 1,237
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: consealing servos

i prefer to use 1/16 ply, a little stiffer.
mscic-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service