Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

72MHZ OR 2.4MHZ

Reply

Old 06-11-2007, 04:55 AM
  #1  
manyu
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: new delhi, INDIA
Posts: 116
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 72MHZ OR 2.4MHZ

Hi.. all

I wanted to buy a new 9 channel radio... but cant decide and i sod my 6xas a few days back.

With so many lockout crashes coming in the 2.4 ghz i am a bit confused to go with a 9cap pcm or a jr 2. 4ghz.
Also with 2.4 ghz technology coming in all the new stuff i feel the 72 mhz may become absolute.

ps i wont wanna get a dx7

Could some one help me what to ge?
manyu is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 06:07 AM
  #2  
jaka
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Upplands Vasby, SWEDEN
Posts: 7,788
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 72MHZ OR 2.4MHZ

Hi!
Many lockout crashes???
My DX-7 works flawlessly!!!
Regards!
Jan K
Sweden
jaka is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 06:12 AM
  #3  
Nelapaty
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 72MHZ OR 2.4MHZ

Dude i reckon you should save some money and invest in a good one... Would recommend the JR x9303 and offcourse 2.5 they are Flawless...
Nelapaty is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 06:13 AM
  #4  
manyu
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: new delhi, INDIA
Posts: 116
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 72MHZ OR 2.4MHZ

i have read loads of threads regarding lockouts.... may be will experience one

Manyu Baweja
manyu is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 06:15 AM
  #5  
Nelapaty
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 72MHZ OR 2.4MHZ

But if you are limited on budget and dont really need a lot of channel's then DX 7 is the way to go. A lot of guys have been using them at our club with no problems at all..
Nelapaty is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 06:16 AM
  #6  
manyu
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: new delhi, INDIA
Posts: 116
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 72MHZ OR 2.4MHZ

Is the jr x9303 worth the extra 250 $ ?
manyu is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 06:20 AM
  #7  
manyu
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: new delhi, INDIA
Posts: 116
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 72MHZ OR 2.4MHZ

Some of the DX-7 threads citing worrying issues. JR will be using Spektrum RF modules on their X9303 so any problem faced by Spektrum will be faced by JR as well. BTW Spektrum and JR share a common support forum on RCU for that reason.


http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_57..._1/key_/tm.htm



http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_5153904/tm.htm



http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=672912



http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_5717286/tm.htm



http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_5515669/tm.htm



http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=679450



http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=688400



http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=687596



http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_5857373/tm.htm



http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=610006



http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_5775386/tm.htm

manyu is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 06:24 AM
  #8  
Nelapaty
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 72MHZ OR 2.4MHZ

Here in Australia many of them prefer JR more than others they are pretty good gear. My advice for you would be If you are planning to get a new radio do tons of research. If I was in your shoes and had the finance I would invest in a good radio like the JR 9303 its got some excellent features...
Nelapaty is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 06:38 AM
  #9  
PiccoLino
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Modena, ITALY
Posts: 107
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 72MHZ OR 2.4MHZ

Here in Italy 72 MHz pcm is still the most reliable one.
PiccoLino is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 07:23 AM
  #10  
fancman
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: N. Charleston, SC
Posts: 1,354
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 72MHZ OR 2.4MHZ

I think you will find that Spektrum is JR. Introducing 2.4 under different name prevents any reputation woes.


fancman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 01:05 PM
  #11  
manyu
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: new delhi, INDIA
Posts: 116
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 72MHZ OR 2.4MHZ

That means Should i wait for the Jr x9303?
manyu is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 02:55 PM
  #12  
sweetpea01
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lebanon OH
Posts: 3,346
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 72MHZ OR 2.4MHZ

Spektrum is not JR.....and JR is not spektrum.

2 different companies that are sharing technologies.........great for both brands
sweetpea01 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 07:02 PM
  #13  
rccrazedman
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Schuylkill Haven, PA
Posts: 479
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 72MHZ OR 2.4MHZ

agrees with sweetpea01. Jr and Specktrum are not the same company but they both share same technology. Take the Jr XP7202 and the DX-7. the are exactually the same looking with exactually the same radio programming in them . the only diffirence is that the DX-7 transmitter has 2.4 ghz guts in it.
rccrazedman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 07:25 PM
  #14  
skull1971
Senior Member
 
skull1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Willis, TX
Posts: 1,569
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 72MHZ OR 2.4MHZ

What about the new Futaba's?
skull1971 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 07:45 PM
  #15  
wc524
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 174
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 72MHZ OR 2.4MHZ

Only if you want 6 channels and a radio that is overpriced for what it's worth. Futaba took their old EX-6 and put 2.4 guts in it. They were way behind the ball and put out a radio that works, but has no features the average flyer needs such as split elevators and ailerons. They aren't selling well either. Low demand says a lot about quality.
wc524 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 08:09 PM
  #16  
rccrazedman
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Schuylkill Haven, PA
Posts: 479
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 72MHZ OR 2.4MHZ

that may be true and that also may be the reason they put the guts inside of a 7cap radio now. a little more features the average flier will use. Futaba also will be comming out with a 2.4 ghz module that will go into the 9cap radio and again another one that will fit the 12 and 14mz radios and will probably be out on the market some time next month I believe. and if they don't have one yet you can already get a module for your Jr, Hitech and Futaba based radios from a 3rd party like Spectrum and others.
rccrazedman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 09:08 PM
  #17  
Villa
Senior Member
 
Villa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wilson, NC,
Posts: 2,057
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 72MHZ OR 2.4MHZ

I just got the Futaba 2.4 GHZ and it just great for me. Have it on 4 planes. I don't care for a lot of bells and wistles. I heard a fellow say he could program in a snap roll on his computer radio so he could just flick a switch to do one. I prefer to fly it myself. He crashes a lot. I don't.
Villa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2007, 03:49 AM
  #18  
manyu
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: new delhi, INDIA
Posts: 116
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 72MHZ OR 2.4MHZ

Just Sold my 6xas so buying a 7 channel is no use to me.... its Hardly got ne new features...
I think i will go with the 9 cap

Manyu
manyu is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 11:17 PM
  #19  
heraldoboldrin
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Araras, BRAZIL
Posts: 676
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 72MHZ OR 2.4MHZ

I have a 14mz and i am thinking to buy the the new 2.4mhz module.... but i am worry if the radio will fit the original case with this module... otherwise i will have to remove it several times... and i dont think that is good to remove modules every weekend...

Can anybody knows something about?

Heraldo
heraldoboldrin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 12:07 AM
  #20  
masonman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Wynne, AR
Posts: 531
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 72MHZ OR 2.4MHZ

I thought futaba had a 12 ch 2.4 radio out. called 12fg. Nice radio. I have a 9CAP on 72mhz. Great radio, never had any problems with hits from other radios. It could happen any day though. When the time comes i will buy a 2.4mod for it. The reason for that is besides the futaba 12fg (which is more radio than i can use) i haven't seen the newer 2.4 radios that have the features of a 9CAP or a XP9303. So i want to keep my radio an get the plug in mod for it later on when the rx price falls from a 100 bucks each.............Just some things to think about.
masonman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2007, 10:24 AM
  #21  
don b
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Littleton CO., CO
Posts: 170
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 72MHZ OR 2.4MHZ

I have a 9caps on 72 MHz and would like to use it on 2.4 GHz and 72MHz, without having to take the 72 antenna in and out each time.
The one I am interested in is the Futaba Fast module.
My question is when you put the 2.4 module in the tranmitter do you have to take the 72MGz antenna out of the 9caps?
It seems to me that it could be designed so it would cut out the 72 antenna when you plug in the 2.4 module in.
Anybody have an answer for me


Thanks Don B
don b is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2007, 10:48 AM
  #22  
Rodney
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 7,769
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 72MHZ OR 2.4MHZ

It is still to early to be sure but IMHO so far, the Futaba FASST system is quite a bit better than the Spectrum as it is true frequency hopping and not as subject to interferance as the Spectrum. So far we have had two instances of interferance on Spectrums, one due to interferance from the electonic ignition system on the plane and the other most probably a reboot in the air due to insufficient battery/wiring causing voltage depressions at the reciever. The Futaba, with true spectrum (changes frequencies every two milliseconds and checks transmitter ID each time) is theoretically more imune. We have only one of the FASST systems at our field so far so no real experience with sufficient examples to be sure of any results. The one example has been exceptionally good and has deliberately been given some very severe tests such as metal buildings between transmitter and running gasoline model, putting heavy foilage (brush and trees) between the two and mounting the receiver near a magneto ignition (G23) engine with the receiver setting over a large aluminum plate in the model. No real range test has yet been made with the model in the air, probably about 1/2 to 3/4 mile maximum so far.
Rodney is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2007, 12:13 PM
  #23  
Villa
Senior Member
 
Villa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wilson, NC,
Posts: 2,057
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 72MHZ OR 2.4MHZ

I have been using the Futaba FASST for about 2 months. We have metal building all around our field. Not one problem has showed up. I have four planes on one transmitter. My four planes are all SPADS and have aluminum angles and one inch aluminum square tubing on them. Absolutely ZERO problems. I have been flying RC since around 1972. My first radio was a single stick Heath kit I built. This new radio has all of the features I want or need. Being from the "old school" I don't need a switch to do a snap roll. I know how to command a plane to do it. Being simple minded I would be a nervous wreck using a radio with a lot of bells and whistles.
Villa is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service