Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Relocate Antena

Reply

Old 07-08-2007, 08:30 PM
  #1  
Splitter
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Erin, ON, CANADA
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Relocate Antena

I have an Ohio rc Ultimate 66in. It has 3 servos in the tail. I would like to run the (Hitec RCD 3800) receiver ant. inside the fuse in an ant. tube. Would the servos cause inference with the receiver or should I run the antena outside. It would look better inside.
Splitter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 08:39 PM
  #2  
Nathan King
Senior Member
 
Nathan King's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 1,727
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Relocate Antena

Routing the antenna internally will work, especially since the fuselage does not severely narrow in the Ultimate. Make sure you position the antenna tube as far away from the servo leads/servos as possible. The servo leads should also be secured to avoid sliding towards/onto the antenna tube while doing aerobatics. Obviously, perform a thorough range check before you fly with the engine running.
Nathan King is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 09:12 PM
  #3  
Splitter
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Erin, ON, CANADA
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Relocate Antena

Thanks for the info Nathan.
Splitter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 02:19 AM
  #4  
alan0899
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warialda NSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,275
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Relocate Antena

G'day Mate,
Make sure you keep the RX antenna away from the servos in the tail, the wiring to them is bad, but the servos produce RF noise, which will interfere with the RX signal.
alan0899 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 06:00 AM
  #5  
Rod Bender
 
Rod Bender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Placerville, CA
Posts: 536
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Relocate Antena

Splitter,

I have a Funtana 90, the older yellow one. I have 3 digital servos in the tail with 18" extensions to the RX. The antena runs parellel to the servos, and are no more than 1" away from them in the fuse. I have never had a problem. Would I design a plane to have the antena in this position.....NO.

But Hanger9 has, and thousands of people fly em every week............ Greg

ps: G'Day Alan How ya been mate? How was the 4th?
Rod Bender is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service