Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Can You Slow Down a Servo?

Reply

Old 07-10-2007, 07:29 AM
  #1  
rwright142
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
rwright142's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 2,141
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Can You Slow Down a Servo?

I have a project I am working on where I need to slow down the speed of a servo. If possible, I would like to only slow it down when it is initialized. I do not mean by using the transmitter, but rather something internal to the servo.
Has anyone done this or is this even possible?
Maybe there are certain types of servos that can do this?





rwright142 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 07:51 AM
  #2  
Dsegal
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,065
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can You Slow Down a Servo?

You can use a Jomar "gear and door sequencer". Go to http://www.emsjomar.com/SearchResult.aspx?CategoryID=6
Dsegal is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 07:51 AM
  #3  
Jburry
Senior Member
 
Jburry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cape Spencer, NB, CANADA
Posts: 566
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can You Slow Down a Servo?

many digital servos will allow the rate to be programmed...
Jburry is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 08:06 AM
  #4  
exeter_acres
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
exeter_acres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Johns Creek, GA
Posts: 7,457
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can You Slow Down a Servo?

Yep....


http://electrodynam.com/rc/EDR-122/index.shtml
exeter_acres is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 08:08 AM
  #5  
rwright142
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
rwright142's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 2,141
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can You Slow Down a Servo?

Dsegal,
Do these control the initial movement? I have a way of slowing the servo down when I need it to move, but what about when power is initially turned on? Will your suggestions also slow it down at that time? I'll check the website for more info.


Jburry,
I'll research those too.

Thanks!
rwright142 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 08:13 AM
  #6  
rwright142
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
rwright142's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 2,141
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can You Slow Down a Servo?

ORIGINAL: exeter_acres
Yep....
http://electrodynam.com/rc/EDR-122/index.shtml
Thanks, another great product, but does it slow down the initial movement (when powered on)?
I've emailed several people now and hopefully I'll find a product that will work.

Thanks again.
rwright142 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 08:54 AM
  #7  
jetmech05
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 4,855
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can You Slow Down a Servo?

sounds like expo might be what you're looking for
jetmech05 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 09:21 AM
  #8  
rwright142
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
rwright142's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 2,141
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can You Slow Down a Servo?

expo?
rwright142 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 11:50 AM
  #9  
Scar
My Feedback: (3)
 
Scar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Peoria Hts, Il. IL
Posts: 3,120
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can You Slow Down a Servo?


ORIGINAL: rwright142

expo?
Yes, Exponential. Programming that comes with some radios. The idea is to reduce the stick-to-servo motion ratio, near the zero point. Is that what you want?

If not, perhaps you could make a full explanation of what you are controlling and how you want it to act, perhaps with mention of the names & designations of the model, the radio, the servo, and any other information.

Scar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 12:33 PM
  #10  
rwright142
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
rwright142's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 2,141
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can You Slow Down a Servo?

I thought that's what he meant, but I am asking if there is a way to slow the servo down when it initially has power connected.
For example, you turn on your transmitter, then you turn on the receiver. When you turn on the receiver, the servos "center" themself (for lack of a better term). This action is fast. I need to slow this down.

Sorry, I thought I explained what I wanted to do - duh... brain fart. This is why I am asking these questions:

In my Corsair the wings will fold. If I have the wings up but the transmitter switch is in the 'spread the wings' position and I turn on the tx and rx, the servos will quickly attempt to move the wings to the spread position, possibly damaging the wings.

If I have the servo speed adjusted to a slower speed then if/when I make that numskull mistake it won't hurt anything. Obviously, I could just put a note, tape, banner, etc on the transmitter reminding myself to check the switch position before powering everything on, but....
rwright142 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 02:12 PM
  #11  
scratchonly
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: winnipeg, MB, CANADA
Posts: 950
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can You Slow Down a Servo?

Check the tansit time on retract servos. I believe they are much slower than regular servos.
scratchonly is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 03:11 PM
  #12  
Dsegal
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,065
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can You Slow Down a Servo?

Sorry, but I have no further information on this gadget.
Dsegal is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 03:40 PM
  #13  
daveopam
My Feedback: (9)
 
daveopam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: ELK CITY, OK
Posts: 7,447
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can You Slow Down a Servo?

I don't know what TX you have. If you have a Futaba 9C you could set a mix to itself for this action. When the 9C is turned on if the mix is active you get a warning. If you get the warning flip the switch and then turn the plane on. If you don't get the warning all is fine. Like I said I don't know what TX you have but others could also have this setup.

David
daveopam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 04:07 PM
  #14  
j.duncker
My Feedback: (2)
 
j.duncker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sailing in the Eastern Caribbean
Posts: 4,046
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can You Slow Down a Servo?

You could put a switch in line to the servo on that channel.
j.duncker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 04:30 PM
  #15  
TLH101
My Feedback: (90)
 
TLH101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Elephant Butte, N.M.
Posts: 6,707
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can You Slow Down a Servo?

A few options:
http://www.rc-cam.com/ldtastic.htm
http://www.welwyn.demon.co.uk/sslow/sslow.htm
http://smservices.net/acatalog/On_Board_Units.html
http://www.hobby-lobby.com/servos.htm (near the bottom of the page)
http://www.dionysusdesign.com/produc...roducts_id=164
http://members.iinet.com.au/~lextron/models/slow.html
TLH101 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2007, 05:45 AM
  #16  
rwright142
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
rwright142's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 2,141
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can You Slow Down a Servo?

ORIGINAL: daveopam
I don't know what TX you have. If you have a Futaba 9C you could set a mix to itself for this action. When the 9C is turned on if the mix is active you get a warning. If you get the warning flip the switch and then turn the plane on. If you don't get the warning all is fine. Like I said I don't know what TX you have but others could also have this setup.
David

I'll have to check into this, thanks.
rwright142 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2007, 05:46 AM
  #17  
rwright142
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
rwright142's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 2,141
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can You Slow Down a Servo?

Nice links, thanks. I have not seen several of these.
rwright142 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2007, 09:43 AM
  #18  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can You Slow Down a Servo?

Here's another:

http://sonictronics.com/xcart/customer/home.php?cat=357
MinnFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2007, 10:07 AM
  #19  
rwright142
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
rwright142's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 2,141
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can You Slow Down a Servo?

I need something that will keep the servos from quickly moving when power is FIRST applied to the receiver. Like when your radio has the throttle set to wide open but the servo in the plane is set on idle. When you turn everything on the servo will quickly go to wide open. The speed of this initial movement is only what I want to change.

The products noted are all nice for controlling the servo when they are being controlled by the transmitter. I'm still researching if they can control the servo when it is first 'turned on' and am waiting for replies.

What I am going to use to control the servo when I want to fold/spread the wings is from Oregon Scale Aviation. The product is call WingMan. Here's a description:
WingMan was designed to enable the scale aviation enthusiast to control the folding or sweeping of wings in a scale-like manner. Additionally, it independently controls a latching servo that insures a positive lock of the wings, while requiring only a single channel of the transmitter. Many safety features have been incorporated in Wingman, in order to avoid inadvertent wing fold sequencing during flight. First, wing folding will only be initiated after an arming sequence of the transmitter switch.
Features
* Four selectable wing sweep or fold speeds
* Fast Down mode to simulate faster lowering than raising speed
* Servo travel adjust from transmitter (fold servo only)
* Servo reversing for both latch and fold servos
* Continuous control even with loss of transmitter signal
* Sequences uninterrupted by noisy or missing transmitter signal
* Digital noise filtering to prevent spurious sequencing
* Fail safe return to previous position if switched during fold sequence
* High quality multi-layer circuit board technology



I just need something that will keep the servo from quickly moving when it first has power applied to the receiver. Like when you first turn it on and your radio has the throttle set to wide open but the plane has it on idle? What happens? The throttle servo quickly moves to the setting on the radio. This is the movement I want to slow down - just that initial movement.
rwright142 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2007, 11:48 AM
  #20  
TLH101
My Feedback: (90)
 
TLH101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Elephant Butte, N.M.
Posts: 6,707
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can You Slow Down a Servo?

Why not add a switch in the power lead for the wing servo. You could then be sure that switch is turned on after the radio. That would serve to remind you to check the wing fold switch on the transmitter before powering up the wing fold servo.
TLH101 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2007, 11:51 AM
  #21  
spiral_72
Senior Member
 
spiral_72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Chesnee, SC
Posts: 511
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can You Slow Down a Servo?

I know exactly what you mean. Soon as you turn on power, ziiiiiip! and the servos center.

A couple ideas that may work or trigger another thought:

Spring selection would be tough but McMaster-Carr has quite an assortment. If you put a spring between the servo and the linkages, the initial start would extend the spring and allow the spring to retract the linkages in a more controlled manner. Maybe.

Other idea would work well but would be kinda heavy. Bimba sells little TINY pneumatic cylinders. Put one end on the linkage and the other end to something stationary, with a flow control on each end to control the servo rate at all times. It'd be kind of like a shock absorber on your car.

As far as electronically altering this..... It'd be tough. I've never heard of a device.
spiral_72 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2007, 01:59 PM
  #22  
rwright142
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
rwright142's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 2,141
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can You Slow Down a Servo?

ORIGINAL: TLH101
Why not add a switch in the power lead for the wing servo. You could then be sure that switch is turned on after the radio. That would serve to remind you to check the wing fold switch on the transmitter before powering up the wing fold servo.
I know this may seem like a silly question because the obvious response would be "just make sure the switch is in the right place before you power everything on!" hahaha... But... it would only take once for me to forget to check the switch and then the wings/servos, etc could be damaged.

Your idea makes sense because it would force me to check one more thing.
One thing that am planning on doing is to place a banner or ribbon on the tx and rx. Something along the line of the "Remove Before Flight" streamer we all have seen. The only difference is that mine would say "Hey dummy, check the switch for the right position for the wings before powering on!"

rwright142 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2007, 02:44 PM
  #23  
broke_n_bummin
Senior Member
 
broke_n_bummin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kershaw, SC
Posts: 838
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can You Slow Down a Servo?

Cut a 6" extention and put a 35 - 75 (uh) capacitor or a small MOV inline with the power lead. This will help absorb the initial power on spikes.
broke_n_bummin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2007, 02:49 PM
  #24  
rwright142
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
rwright142's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 2,141
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can You Slow Down a Servo?

I don't think it's a spike we're referring to. I believe it's the servo being turned on, and sensing that it is not in the right position according to the stick/switch/knob (whatever) position that the transmitter is set at. Seeing the discrepancy. it wants to move to where it thinks it should be so it moves quickly.
rwright142 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 01:11 PM
  #25  
spiral_72
Senior Member
 
spiral_72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Chesnee, SC
Posts: 511
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can You Slow Down a Servo?

Hopefully you will check this post. I just run across something I think will work for you..... I think.

http://www.rcdude.com/servlet/the-16...troller/Detail

Lemme know if that's what you are looking for. Hope it helps.
spiral_72 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service