Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Large servo for throttle. Overkill?

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Large servo for throttle. Overkill?

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2007, 01:49 AM
friz
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Large servo for throttle. Overkill?

I am new to gas, so this may seem like a silly question to you all. When rigging the throttle on my first glow airplane H9 twist, I was amazed at how easy it was to actuate the throttle but a full sized servo cutout was in the throttle position. Another thing suprised me. All of the servos on this palne are very close to the control surfaces, but the throttle servo is buried in the middle of the fuse. Wouldn't it make more sense to put a micro servo right next to the engine and actuate the throttle with a little push rod.
Old 11-11-2007, 01:58 AM
frank99
My Feedback: (29)

Default RE: Large servo for throttle. Overkill?

you got it right frank
Old 11-11-2007, 04:31 AM
jetmech05

seems to me that a micro servo might be affected by the vibration of the engine...
Old 11-11-2007, 04:41 AM
da Rock

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

ORIGINAL: jetmech05

seems to me that a micro servo might be affected by the vibration of the engine...

If that is a concern (and it should be with some little servos) then look at the Hitec hs-225. It's called the Mighty Mini. It's not a micro, but is less than an ounce. And it has the torque of a standard servo. And it's only around $20.
Old 11-11-2007, 04:45 AM
da Rock

ORIGINAL: friz
Wouldn't it make more sense to put a micro servo right next to the engine and actuate the throttle with a little push rod.
It certainly would if the environment around an engine was a bit nicer.