Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

prop balencing?

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

prop balencing?

Old 11-17-2007, 09:57 PM
panzertank

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default prop balencing?

I have a 10-6 powerpoint prop and saw on the manual that it said it should not be shaved down or altered in anyway . however in my Avistar's manual is says specifically to make sure to balence the prop. i have no experience balencing props and want to know what to do. how to you even balence a prop? any info will be extremely helpful in deciding what i should do and much appreciated
Old 11-18-2007, 12:30 AM
DMcQuinn
My Feedback: (13)

Default RE: prop balencing?

You can buy a device - probably about $5 - that clamps the prop between two beveled nuts on a threaded shaft. Then you hold this between your thumb and finger and see if one blade is heavier than the other. Then you sand a little material from the heavy side. Or you paint the light side with a little clear paint. Or CA glue.

Quite frankly, on a 10x6 manufactured prop, it is probably balanced good enough to just go ahead and fly it. Sometimes props are not balanced from the factory, but in my experience, most of the time they are very close.
Old 11-18-2007, 05:18 AM
jetmech05

don't shave or alter in any way protects the company from a potental law suit....search the forums there have been very good threads to show you exactly how to balance a prop
Old 11-18-2007, 07:51 AM
Mode One

With every prop I buy, I always check the balance. My opinion would be not to just use a prop without checking first. Plastic props do not need sanding or shaving to balance. I like a white or yellow tip, so the tip is very visible when the engine is running. I simply apply more coats of paint to the lighter tip, until I get a balance.
Old 11-18-2007, 07:56 AM
Villa

Is there a website for the powerpoint prop? I have never heard of it.