Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

battery size

Reply

Old 04-14-2008, 07:01 PM
  #1  
1rcaddict
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lincoln city, OR
Posts: 77
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default battery size

Can anyone tell me the proper flight battery size to power 3 Hitec HS-5645MG servos, 2 JR DS821 servos and 1 Hitec HS-81. I keep having trouble with my larger aircraft glitching. Right now i''m using 2 Sanyo 6 volt 2000mah wired in parallel.
Thanks
1rcaddict is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 07:27 PM
  #2  
Nathan King
Senior Member
 
Nathan King's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 1,727
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: battery size

Well, according to my calculations you should have at least 3850 mAh of current. Right now you have 4000 mAh. I don''t see a problem. [sm=confused.gif]

Forgive me for asking such a stupid question, but how did the range checks go?
Nathan King is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 08:16 AM
  #3  
1rcaddict
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lincoln city, OR
Posts: 77
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: battery size

I had 2 successful 8 minute flights prior to the glitch. Could a stalled servo have exceeded the current output of the battery? I don''t know what the "c" rating is on the Sanyo 2000mah.
1rcaddict is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 09:16 AM
  #4  
Gringo Flyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (18)
 
Gringo Flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Formosa, ARGENTINA
Posts: 2,370
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: battery size

The C rating has to do with how fast the batteries can be discharged. Each C is equal to the capacity of the pack. A 1000mah 1C battery could be discharged at 1000mah a 2c at 2000mah. That is over generalized but gives you a basic idea.

As far as powering a rx and servos, especially running 2 packs, I dont think you are overloading the packs C rating.
Gringo Flyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 12:09 PM
  #5  
Flying freak
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: granby, QC, CANADA
Posts: 1,407
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: battery size

What kinda aircraft? any chance some off the servos are binding? a servo that binds can pull killer amps
Flying freak is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 02:57 PM
  #6  
Gringo Flyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (18)
 
Gringo Flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Formosa, ARGENTINA
Posts: 2,370
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: battery size

Are the packs draining down fast? How many flights are you getting on a flight?

If its glitching I would try a different switch, do another range check with engine running and without, try unplugging servos one by one, etc. You need to try to isolate what is causing the glitching so you can pick it.

My hunch is that its not the packs unless there is a loose solder joint. But the fact that you are running in parallel would mean both packs would have to be bad which is very unlikely.
Gringo Flyer is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service