Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Trouble w/ Futaba T7CAP ?

Reply

Old 04-23-2008, 07:59 AM
  #1  
outdoorhunting
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 2,057
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Trouble w/ Futaba T7CAP ?

Just put my S Sportster in the ground. Yeah, I know, another case of "dumb Thumbs". Wait a minute, I've had 3 different planes go down last year & yesterday !!! Hum, lets see, all had NEW RX , all was flying great like yesterday, while flying all of a sudden the plane did about a 2' jump up & down, just like if I had given full elevator both ways!! I thought " what did that". It flew great after that untill I come in to land. I was about 50' off the ground & it started to do a little roll, I didn't worry as there was a 10MPH crosswind, just as I started to straighten it out it went ( I think) to to full up elev = 1 point landing. Almost the same thing happened to my 4* 60 & 4* 40 (these are not hard planes to fly) I've been flying for 4yrs & not a newbie nor am I a expert pilot . I blamed the problem on interferance at the field as I found out last fall the channel I was flying had previous problems. I went to a diffent crystal figureing that would take care of it. Yesterday,(first flight of the year) the same thing happened w/ the new crystal. I'm wondering, has anybody had trouble with the Futaba T7 CAP TX? I didn't have any problems till I got the radio. I've blamed it on bad RX, low battery, momentary dead brain, everything always checked out OK. My buddies said I had to have a brain before they could check that out. It's getting bad at the airfield, when I pull into the field, the guys start waving trash bags at me. Please, help !!!!
outdoorhunting is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2008, 10:53 AM
  #2  
alfredbmor
Senior Member
 
alfredbmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 1,789
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Trouble w/ Futaba T7CAP ?

For safety reasons I would send the system for service, but I'd like to share some thoughs.
I think that basically the Rx are loosing contact with the Tx so I would check the battery drain and maybe change the switch. If your battery and switch were involved in a prior crash then you should change them. There are other facts that could lead to interference like antena placement and Rx placement inside the plane. But as I said I would send the system just for safety reasons.
alfredbmor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2008, 01:53 PM
  #3  
daveopam
My Feedback: (9)
 
daveopam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: ELK CITY, OK
Posts: 7,466
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Trouble w/ Futaba T7CAP ?

I would also send it in for service. I had an RX that took a hit every now and then. One day with it on the bench I tapped it with my fingernail. All the servos jumped. I sent it in and the main board was cracked. It was out of warranty but I was offered a new RX and crystal for $40. This was about 1/2 price and I jumped on it.

David
daveopam is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service