Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

MonoKoting on Fiberglass Cowls

Old 04-24-2008, 07:59 AM
dasintex
My Feedback: (10)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default MonoKoting on Fiberglass Cowls

I am considering getting an aftermarket Flush Mounted Cowl from 'Spychalla Aircraft' for the 'Ready To Cover Version TF GS P-51 ARF' that I am buildingl I plan on covering the plane with MonoKote, as I have no experience to attempt Glassing and Painting, I can certainly spray paint the cowl with the matching color, but there is always the chance of a variation in color and appearance however, this cowl can be flush mounted with the joint filled and sanded so no transition is visiable, is it possible to monokote the cowl, will it adhere, and what do you need to do to be successful or at least overlap the joint with monokote onto the fiber glass cowl say 1/2" if the paint and monokote are a perfect match?

Thanks, Doug.
Attached Images   
Old 04-24-2008, 08:10 AM
Mark in Michigan

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: MonoKoting on Fiberglass Cowls

I have adhered some Monokote to fiberglass cowls, but never an entire cowl. The heat does distort it, you have to be very careful. And you will need heat becasue of the curves of the cowl. I would not attempt an entire cowl if it was me.

If you are going to use the Aluminum Monokote & matching paint, the color match is pretty close, but the sheen is off a bit. I just did this on a Meister Mustang.
Old 04-24-2008, 08:34 AM
dasintex

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

Mark