Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Question about covering material

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Question about covering material

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2004, 09:22 AM
Hopper

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question about covering material

Hi guys,

Having just finished my first year in RC, I had a question on covering an SE5a kit I am ready to build. I am new to the hobby, but have been building wood and plastic models for years. The kit is from HobbyHanger and I'd like to cover it with something that looks like canvas. I read somewhere about a covering that probably would fit my bill. I just can't remember what it was called. This is a semi-scale kit and will be for me to fly for myself. It doesn't have to be "show quality" covering, just something fairly easy to deal with.
Old 12-31-2004, 10:13 AM
Hopper

Default RE: Question about covering material

I think I found the one I was thinking about. Hobby-Lobby Int.'s SuperFabric. Has anyone used this? Can it be painted?
Old 12-31-2004, 11:12 AM
tailskid
My Feedback: (34)

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Perhaps Super Coverite (from Hangar 9)????

Jerry
Old 12-31-2004, 11:15 AM
Hopper

Thanks Jerry, I check that too. Have you used it?
Old 12-31-2004, 11:22 AM
tailskid
My Feedback: (34)

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Yes, and it gives the plane a nice fabric appearance. A bit slow to apply as the covering material keeps the heat (and therefore the glue doesn't cool as fast as other iron-on coverings. Takes a lot of heat to shrink....but is well worth it (IMHO)....

Jerry
Old 12-31-2004, 11:34 AM
Hopper

That's what I needed to know. That sounds like what I will use.

Thanks again for the tips!

Claude" Hopper" Christ
Old 12-31-2004, 12:59 PM
Campy
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

ORIGINAL: Hopper

Hi guys,