Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

engine question for greatplanes skybolt

Reply

Old 04-28-2008, 12:09 PM
  #1  
dispatcher418
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL
Posts: 28
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default engine question for greatplanes skybolt

hello, i purchased a GP arf super skybolt 60 - 91

any advice on an engine?

thanks
dispatcher418 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2008, 12:33 PM
  #2  
Insanemoondoggie
 
Insanemoondoggie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Altamont, MO
Posts: 2,470
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: engine question for greatplanes skybolt

I use a Saito 1.00 with a 14x8 APC in mine . Great power to weight ratio and never run out of vertical .

The firewall has lots of lightening holes , which makes it a little weak and had to replace mine , as the engine mount was pulling it apart .
The Skybolt is my favorite plane, and looks great in the air.
Insanemoondoggie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2008, 12:57 PM
  #3  
da Rock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Near Pfafftown NC
Posts: 11,511
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: engine question for greatplanes skybolt

Look closely at the prop/ground clearance for any oversize engine you're considering. 3-blade props can help solve the problem, but it's better to know up front what your engine choice can affect.


Also, keep in mind that the firewall is only 2 layers of liteply. And the upper part of it has no support other than foam and skin sheeting. It would be a good idea to consider laminating a layer of aeroply (real hardwood plywood) to the firewall to keep the motor mount from compressing into the soft liteply. Liteply doesn't stand compression very well.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ur52426.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	175.1 KB
ID:	939068   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ge94796.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	41.9 KB
ID:	939069  
da Rock is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2008, 01:48 PM
  #4  
Mttvannest
Member
 
Mttvannest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 68
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: engine question for greatplanes skybolt

One of the guys in our club just flew his for the first time wed. It was the kit version, but it's the same size as the arf. It flew quite nice with a super tiger 75. It flew like an airplane. It won't hover on the engine.

matt
Mttvannest is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 10:39 AM
  #5  
dispatcher418
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL
Posts: 28
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: engine question for greatplanes skybolt

Thanks for the help
dispatcher418 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2008, 12:30 AM
  #6  
FlyingPilgrim
My Feedback: (26)
 
FlyingPilgrim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 1,503
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: engine question for greatplanes skybolt

Unless you are flying at extreme altitudes, I don't think there is any reason to go larger than an O.S. FS-91, which is what this plane was designed for. If you prefer a 2-stroke, any .61 to .75 should be fine.
FlyingPilgrim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2008, 05:21 PM
  #7  
dispatcher418
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL
Posts: 28
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: engine question for greatplanes skybolt

what engine did you use?

thanks mike

dispatcher418 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2008, 08:01 PM
  #8  
Jester241
Senior Member
 
Jester241's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: MCALISTERVILLE, PA
Posts: 683
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: engine question for greatplanes skybolt

Our instructor has an O.S. .91 4-stroke in his skybolt and it flies great.
Jester241 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2008, 08:19 PM
  #9  
dispatcher418
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL
Posts: 28
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: engine question for greatplanes skybolt

thanks

what prop?

dispatcher418 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2008, 08:56 PM
  #10  
da Rock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Near Pfafftown NC
Posts: 11,511
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: engine question for greatplanes skybolt


ORIGINAL: Mttvannest

One of the guys in our club just flew his for the first time wed. It was the kit version, but it's the same size as the arf. It flew quite nice with a super tiger 75. It flew like an airplane. It won't hover on the engine.

matt

The kit version used to finish out quite a bit heavier than the ARF. And it built a lot of it's reputation with 60s in the nose. Not too many people were into 3D.

So don't think you need more power than 60 2cycle or 90 4cycle. Mine is great with the 60.
da Rock is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2008, 09:43 PM
  #11  
ChuckW
Senior Member
 
ChuckW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 5,165
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: engine question for greatplanes skybolt


ORIGINAL: Insanemoondoggie

I use a Saito 1.00 with a 14x8 APC in mine . Great power to weight ratio and never run out of vertical .
I'm assembling on right now and have a brand new Saito 1.00 for it. Hopefully it will be a great combo. I've heard several horror stories about the firewall. Mine seems to be made of good quality aircraft plywood, epoxied and braced with tri-stock. Is there something I'm not seeing or did they maybe improve it?
ChuckW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 04:48 AM
  #12  
Jester241
Senior Member
 
Jester241's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: MCALISTERVILLE, PA
Posts: 683
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: engine question for greatplanes skybolt


ORIGINAL: dispatcher418

thanks

what prop?


......no clue,lol.
Jester241 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 05:58 AM
  #13  
Insanemoondoggie
 
Insanemoondoggie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Altamont, MO
Posts: 2,470
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: engine question for greatplanes skybolt


ORIGINAL: ChuckW


ORIGINAL: Insanemoondoggie

I use a Saito 1.00 with a 14x8 APC in mine . Great power to weight ratio and never run out of vertical .
I'm assembling on right now and have a brand new Saito 1.00 for it. Hopefully it will be a great combo. I've heard several horror stories about the firewall. Mine seems to be made of good quality aircraft plywood, epoxied and braced with tri-stock. Is there something I'm not seeing or did they maybe improve it?
The firewall looks good from the front , but there are so many lightening holes in the back of the second peice of ply , thst it is very weak and a strong engine will pull the the mount off the plane . See da Rocks pics in post above.

With the Saito 1.00 I have unlimited vertical and will hover on the prop . Thats how I pulled the firewall lose, hanging it on the prop.
Insanemoondoggie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 06:31 AM
  #14  
da Rock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Near Pfafftown NC
Posts: 11,511
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: engine question for greatplanes skybolt


ORIGINAL: Insanemoondoggie

The firewall looks good from the front , but there are so many lightening holes in the back of the second peice of ply , thst it is very weak and a strong engine will pull the the mount off the plane . See da Rocks pics in post above.

With the Saito 1.00 I have unlimited vertical and will hover on the prop . Thats how I pulled the firewall lose, hanging it on the prop.
And they didn't provide supporting bulkheads across the back. Amazing. In the picture you can see they had a horizontal bulkhead about 1/3 from the top that they actually cut the middle out of. I guess they wanted to make the nose lighter.

Also, liteply more often has voids and holes. They reject it when they are on the exterior plys, but don't see the internal ones. And it doesn't stand compression worth spit. You can often tighten down the motor mount bolts and pull the blind-nuts right into the ply. It often happens that blind-nuts tighten easily until they contact the back of the motor mount. The stuff is that poor. It's made to be light first and strong second.
da Rock is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service