Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Back Up RX Batteries

Reply

Old 05-02-2008, 08:48 PM
  #1  
Texan2
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
Texan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Beaumont, TX
Posts: 232
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Back Up RX Batteries

I'm considering a redundant RX baterry pack for my TF 310 Twin and don't know what components are necessary. Any info would be appreciated.
Thanks

PS What manufacturer sells the components? I know I'll need two battery packs. What else?
Texan2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2008, 09:16 PM
  #2  
khodges
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: newton, NC
Posts: 5,443
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Back Up RX Batteries

All you need is the second battery pack and another switch. Two ways to hook it up. One, plug a "Y" harness into the battery jack on the Rx, then connect the switches to each leg of the Y, then connect batteries.

Two, use a separate Rx jack for each switch (any empty Rx jack can be used for power), and plug the batteries to each switch. This will give you a redundant system at whatever voltage one of the packs is rated at, but gives double the available capacity of one pack..
khodges is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2008, 05:44 AM
  #3  
camdyson
Senior Member
 
camdyson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bairnsdale, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 866
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Back Up RX Batteries

Also, you can put the y-lead on a USED Rx output if no spares - just put the servo on one side and the backup switch/batt on the other side of the y-lead. The power all ends up in the same place on the Rx's common +/- power tracks.

If you fly JR 2.4, their new Rx with redundant batt inputs looks pretty slick too.

Cam
camdyson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2008, 07:44 AM
  #4  
Flying freak
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: granby, QC, CANADA
Posts: 1,407
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Back Up RX Batteries

I wouldn't use 2 batteries going into a single jack into the rx, you have now just put a single point of failure in the line, the goal of 2 batteries is so that should any 1 item fail the system can operate if that y lead goes out on yah....


Also make sure when using 2 batteris that a single battery pack can supply the amps needed to keep the plane flying...

Steven
Flying freak is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2008, 10:59 PM
  #5  
Texan2
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
Texan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Beaumont, TX
Posts: 232
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Back Up RX Batteries


ORIGINAL: khodges

All you need is the second battery pack and another switch. Two ways to hook it up. One, plug a "Y" harness into the battery jack on the Rx, then connect the switches to each leg of the Y, then connect batteries.

Two, use a separate Rx jack for each switch (any empty Rx jack can be used for power), and plug the batteries to each switch. This will give you a redundant system at whatever voltage one of the packs is rated at, but gives double the available capacity of one pack..
Thank you guys for all of your help. I couldn't have imagined it was that simple.
Texan2 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service