Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Top Flite F4U Corsair Folding Wings

Reply
Old 05-11-2008, 08:17 AM
  #1
poot43725
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: cambridge, OH
Posts: 27
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Top Flite F4U Corsair Folding Wings

I'm building a Top Flite GE .60 corsair and was wondering if there was a kit on the market for folding wings
or if anyone has sucessfully done this can tell me what i need to get, or advice on how to do it would be appreciated
poot43725 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2008, 08:54 AM
  #2
DavidAgar
 
DavidAgar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Battle Ground, WA
Posts: 4,979
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite F4U Corsair Folding Wings

I do not think that there is a kit available that do this, so if it were to be done, you would have to design it or get the design from someone. The other issue with all the Top Flite Gold Edition kits is weight. The weight that you added to the wing for folding them would need to be subtracted in some manner else where on the plane. Good Luck, Dave
DavidAgar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2008, 06:34 AM
  #3
speed367
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Jamestown, NY
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite F4U Corsair Folding Wings

I actually did that on a 40 size but had all kind of problems. I couldnt find anyway too push the wings in the up position without adding way too much weight. The second problem was to lock the wings in the down position and then to raise them with out going over and releasing them manually. I didnt have much problem designing the wing to fold but the flaps had to have 4 servos because the split in the middle of them and the othere problem was the alieron servo that was mouted in the middle of the wing couldnt be used I had to go to 2 servos now im sporting way too much weight in the wings. I decided that the tubes, pushrods, servos and extra weight was just not practical. (there goes 2 months of my life ) Good luck tho and please let us know how that works out for ya!


Chuck (speed367)
speed367 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2008, 05:03 PM
  #4
djr1007
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 254
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite F4U Corsair Folding Wings

Has been done, but don't know the secret. Maybe a spring air retract with speed valve?
Here are some videos of them, perhaps you can contact one or more of these guys and get some help.
http://www.youtube.com/results?searc...rch_type=&aq=o
djr1007 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2008, 08:00 PM
  #5
khodges
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: newton, NC
Posts: 5,443
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Top Flite F4U Corsair Folding Wings

At that scale, the folding mechanism is just too complex and the extra servos and hardware make it much heavier and impractical, as David said above. If you want to go up to 1/4 scale or larger, then the engineering is easier and the added weight is a much smaller percentage of the total a/c weight.
khodges is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:06 AM.