Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Battery Cutoff Voltage

Reply

Old 05-07-2003, 01:29 AM
  #1  
Mike Buckley
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: st catharinesontario, CANADA
Posts: 123
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Battery Cutoff Voltage

I'm just curious, and perhaps maybe a little over cautious, but I was wondering what most people think is a safe voltage to fly their 4 cell reciever packs on? 5.3V, 5.2V, etc... A dead battery seems like such a silly reason to crash, I can crash all by myself, I don't need a battery failing to help me...

Mike
Mike Buckley is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2003, 01:39 AM
  #2  
DMcQuinn
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chesterfield, MO
Posts: 1,857
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Battery Cutoff Voltage

I fly down to 4.6 volts measured under 300 mA load. If you quit at 5.0 volts for example you may only be using 25% of your capacity.
After you fly, measure the remaining capacity with a discharger. This is the only real way to know.
DMcQuinn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2003, 01:54 AM
  #3  
Mike Buckley
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: st catharinesontario, CANADA
Posts: 123
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Battery Cutoff Voltage

I guess a better question might have been, at what voltage does the reciever stop being able to function properly...

Mike
Mike Buckley is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2003, 02:00 AM
  #4  
Stick Jammer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Crete, IL
Posts: 2,251
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Battery Cutoff Voltage

Futaba lists their's at 3.5V but you must remember that a 4.8V pack starts to fall off very quickly below 4.8 and even though the receiver may function at 3.5, your servos may not.
Stick Jammer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2003, 02:03 AM
  #5  
Flypaper 2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kingston, ON, CANADA
Posts: 4,925
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Battery Cutoff Voltage

I've seen where the servos get slow responding so it's giving you a fair warning to get down in a hurry.
Flypaper 2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2003, 01:28 PM
  #6  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Battery Cutoff Voltage

If you ever notice your trims getting "out of trim", get down QUICK!
MinnFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2003, 01:23 AM
  #7  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Battery Cutoff Voltage

I fly down to 4.8 volts
This gives me enough power at load (300ma) to get to the ground.
Geistware is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service