Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Servo leads: how long is too long?

Reply

Old 05-09-2003, 12:20 PM
  #1  
Deadeye
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Deadeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Dutton, MT
Posts: 4,516
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Servo leads: how long is too long?

I'm building an enormous SPAD - type plane. A high wing with an 8 foot wingspan. Buried in the wings will be 4 standard servos; 2 for flap, 2 for 'rons. The flap servos only need a 12" extension, but my 'ron servos will need about 32", plus another short extension plugged into the reciever. Is that too much? Do I need a heavy guage wire, noise filter, etc? Thank you for your time.

Dead
Deadeye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2003, 12:51 PM
  #2  
Stick Jammer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Crete, IL
Posts: 2,251
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Servo leads: how long is too long?

Not a problem, just be sure to use 22 gauge wire. You may want to splice and solder the extensions in the wing and do away with the connectors.
Stick Jammer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2003, 03:07 PM
  #3  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Servo leads: how long is too long?

And if you can find it, use 3 twisted strands instead of the flat "ribbon" type.
MinnFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service