Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Mounting FMA Copilot

Reply

Old 05-17-2003, 10:22 PM
  #1  
varmit
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: deland, FL
Posts: 53
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Mounting FMA Copilot

I am in the process of mounting an FMA COPILOT on the underside of the left wing of an Advance 40 and am a bit leery of using sticky back velcro cause sooner or later oil will get to it.
Does anyone have any suggestions ?

Thanks Varmit
varmit is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2003, 07:07 PM
  #2  
tailskid
My Feedback: (34)
 
tailskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Tolleson, AZ
Posts: 9,441
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Mounting FMA Copilot

Why on the underside? I placed mine on the top of the LEFT wing - no fuel residue there.

Jerry
tailskid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2003, 02:02 AM
  #3  
varmit
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: deland, FL
Posts: 53
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Mounting FMA Copilot

Jerry:
The plane that I am installing the Copilot on is a low wing and has a rather large canopy which might obstruct the view of the sensor.

Varmit
varmit is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2003, 02:16 AM
  #4  
tailskid
My Feedback: (34)
 
tailskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Tolleson, AZ
Posts: 9,441
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Mounting FMA Copilot

That makes sense....any chance of mounting it on the bottom of the fuselage?

What plane is it?

Jerry
tailskid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2003, 03:36 PM
  #5  
varmit
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: deland, FL
Posts: 53
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Mounting FMA Copilot

Jerry:
The plane in question is an advance 40 by Thunder Tiger. I have already installed the Copilot on the wing but reinstalling it under the fuse sounds good cause then I wouldn't have to plug and unplug the cable everytime the wing is removed.
The FMA people suggest installing it directly behind the canopy on top of the fuse......but this spot has a very sharp radius and I don't think that it would be stable enough.....I guess that I could make up a bracket of somekind with a flat spot on top and match the radius on the bottom.
Are you using a switch or a knob on your TX to control the unit(I have a Hitec Eclipse) and plan on using the flap knob for control
of channel 6.
If you have any suggestions about anything concerning the Copilot I sure will listen.
Varmit
varmit is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2003, 01:46 AM
  #6  
tailskid
My Feedback: (34)
 
tailskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Tolleson, AZ
Posts: 9,441
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Mounting FMA Copilot

I used the 5th channel (on/off)....and rarely had to move it because my students seem to progress so fast, I was adjusting the sensitivity lower and lower!

Let us know how it goes....

Jerry
tailskid is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service