Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Battery connectors??? Why so many????

Reply

Old 05-19-2003, 11:48 PM
  #1  
KadetBuilder
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ireland
Posts: 66
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Battery connectors??? Why so many????

I'm just after buying a Hitec Laser 6 radio and LO AND BEHOLD, they've gone and changed the **** type of connector on the transmitter battery. :stupid:
So now I have three types of connector.....the old Hitec/JR one.....then theres the strange Airtronics/Sanwa one on the TX battery....and now an equally strange one on the Hitec tx battery.....
Am I the only person that this is driving crazy?
How do you cope with all the different connectors when you want to connect them to your fast charger?

Maybe theres an easy solution, so please someone tell me what it is before i eat my batteries in despair!! :stupid:
What types of connectors available in the uk are the best and where do ya get em?
KadetBuilder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2003, 11:54 PM
  #2  
Stick Jammer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Crete, IL
Posts: 2,251
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Battery connectors??? Why so many????

Buy all Futaba.
Stick Jammer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2003, 06:17 AM
  #3  
Hircflyer
Senior Member
 
Hircflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kailua, HI
Posts: 956
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Battery connectors??? Why so many????

Or all JR
Hircflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2003, 12:47 AM
  #4  
patternwannabee
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mars, PA
Posts: 252
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Battery connectors??? Why so many????

KadetBuildr,

Your fast charger should be able to connect directly to the TX charging jack. I think that since it is diode protected it will prevent you from taking current out, but should still be able to read the voltage from the battery for the delta peak sensing, etc.

For cycling though, you would need to remove the battery from the TX and connect it directly to the cycler. If this is the problem, then here's my solution.

It's a block of wood drilled through with 2 copper wires spaced to match the connector. The one depicted is from my Flash 5. I'm sorry I don't remember the size of the wires, but you should be able to find it through trial and error.

Put a dab of 5 min epoxy on both sides to hold it firm.

The copper wire protrudes from the other end, so you can grab it with alligator clips. Wire this to banana plugs that connect to your cycler.

I haven't seen the newest strange TX battery connector, but hope this helps.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	80232_16058.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	57.4 KB
ID:	47328  
patternwannabee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2003, 01:06 PM
  #5  
KadetBuilder
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ireland
Posts: 66
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Battery connectors??? Why so many????

Yep thats what i was looking for...the connector looks similar to the Hitec one...I'm just afraid to damage that connector because I don't know where u would go to get another one without replacing the battery...
KadetBuilder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2003, 01:25 PM
  #6  
LesUyeda
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,670
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Battery connectors??? Why so many????

The connector looks very much like what they are using on radio telephone batteries. If all else fails, Radio Shack may be able to help.

Les
LesUyeda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2003, 07:35 PM
  #7  
david a
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: montgomery, alabama
Posts: 328
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Battery connectors??? Why so many????

I use a standard universal three prong male plug to plug into mine. Just match up the colored wires and forget the third prong. My fast charger has alligator clips that I attach to the appropriate exposed ends of the three prong plug wire.

BTW patternwannabee, great close up picture. What camara are you using?
david a is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2003, 04:13 AM
  #8  
patternwannabee
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mars, PA
Posts: 252
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Battery connectors??? Why so many????

Thanks David A,

I used the Minolta DiMage S404 on the High Quality setting. Macro Lens.

Then I resized the image using Adobe Elements to 700 by whatever pixels.
patternwannabee is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service