Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Installing Wing Bolts for an Midwest Aerostar 40

Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Installing Wing Bolts for an Midwest Aerostar 40

Reply

Old 05-20-2003, 02:00 PM
  #1  
bmat772
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Williston, FL
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Installing Wing Bolts for an Midwest Aerostar 40

I'm putting together a Aerostar 40. I really don't like the idea of rubber bands holding down the wing. I need some input on installing wing bolts for this kit.

Thanks
bmat772 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2003, 06:01 PM
  #2  
tailskid
My Feedback: (34)
 
tailskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Tolleson, AZ
Posts: 9,441
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Installing Wing Bolts for an Midwest Aerostar 40

Check your PM...

Jerry
tailskid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2003, 06:23 PM
  #3  
Crash_N_Burn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: d, AL,
Posts: 535
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Installing Wing Bolts for an Midwest Aerostar 40

Say, Tailskid, I was going to start one next month for my son and was thinking about doing the same thing.

Would you mind passing that info along?

Thanks!
Crash_N_Burn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2003, 08:03 PM
  #4  
tailskid
My Feedback: (34)
 
tailskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Tolleson, AZ
Posts: 9,441
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Installing Wing Bolts for an Midwest Aerostar 40

Will do...

Jerry
tailskid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2005, 11:22 PM
  #5  
Pirsquared
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Englewood, CO
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Installing Wing Bolts for an Midwest Aerostar 40

Hi!
I'm building an Aerostar too! I am at the point where I am about to start covering the plane. The past 50 or so pages were about installing servos and pushrods and getting them perfectly adjusted. The step before starting covering says something to the effect of: now take out everything you just spent 3 frustrating weeks fretting over. [:@] [:@] [:@] [:@] [:@] [:@] [:@] [:@] [:@] [:@] [>:] [>:] [>:] [>:]
I understand taking out the engine, but is there any way I can just cover around the places where the pushrods come out?

Please reply!

Thanks

-Eitan [8D]
Pirsquared is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2005, 09:11 AM
  #6  
piper_chuck
My Feedback: (12)
 
piper_chuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 8,039
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Installing Wing Bolts for an Midwest Aerostar 40

ORIGINAL: Pirsquared
I understand taking out the engine, but is there any way I can just cover around the places where the pushrods come out?
You already know the answer. Take the pushrods out. I assume you will need to unscrew the clevis. Use something, crayon or permanent pen, to mark the location of the clevis on the rod. This will make it easier to get it back to where it was. As an aside, I install the radio before covering. However, since I know it's coming back out, and the surfaces are not glued in yet, I don't sweat the adjustments. I just make sure the linkages move free. Many times I don't even bother installing the control horns before covering, I just get the rods in the right places. Leave the precise tuning for after covering.
piper_chuck is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2005, 10:28 AM
  #7  
bentgear
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Brandon, MS
Posts: 2,756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Installing Wing Bolts for an Midwest Aerostar 40

Heck Jerry, you might as well go ahead and post the info, or send it pm. IMHO, the Aerostar is one of the most overlooked trainers out there. Great flying qualities for a trainer, and it evens flys good inverted. New flyer put my last one into the trees, the rubber bands did not save the wing Time to build another.

Ed M.
bentgear is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2005, 12:07 PM
  #8  
redbluffwingnut
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
redbluffwingnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: redbluff, CA
Posts: 115
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Installing Wing Bolts for an Midwest Aerostar 40

Ok the first thing you will need to do is place a ply 3/16 cross piece in the front and rear of the fuse reinforced with triangle gussets in opening to hold the wing then place light ply 5/32 on the front and rear {top} of wing then place the wing on the plane and drill a hole in each corner (4) just a tad smaller than the wing bolt that you are going to use then take the wing off and redrill the wing holes slightly larger (SLIGHTLY) then take a tap and tap the holes in the fuse to fit the threads of you wing bolts (or you can use blind nuts if so drill holes in fuse to fit ) make all your control rods work freely /some people try to put a dowel in the leading edge of wing but the leading edge WILL NOT HOLD
Good luck
redbluffwingnut is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2005, 11:00 PM
  #9  
tailskid
My Feedback: (34)
 
tailskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Tolleson, AZ
Posts: 9,441
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Installing Wing Bolts for an Midwest Aerostar 40

Bentgear, me thinks my thoughts were published in RCM about two years ago.....in the column 'Beginner's Bench'. If I can, I'll try and find the original manuscript.

Jerry
tailskid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2005, 05:09 PM
  #10  
Pirsquared
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Englewood, CO
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Installing Wing Bolts for an Midwest Aerostar 40

I see the logic! Thanks!
Pirsquared is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service