Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

1/4 Airfoil Aviation Para(chute)plane?

Old 05-23-2003, 12:43 AM
Homebrewer
My Feedback: (8)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 1/4 Airfoil Aviation Para(chute)plane?

Anybody got any experience with one of these? I flew mine for the first time and I was not impressed. The paraplane was rocking wildly from side to side the entire flight and was next to impossible to control, hard to turn. Winds were very light, about 5mph, so that couldn't have been it.

Thanks,
Andy

Here is what I bought:

www.airfoilaviation.com
Old 05-23-2003, 11:20 AM
RandyL
My Feedback: (4)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

I might be able to help some. I've been flying one for several years. I had all sorts of problems the first year but have since gotten things sorted out and it fly well. The launch is still the worst part.
Do you know what it weighs ( including the chute )?

What motor and prop?

Held by the chute cords, how is the balance? Tell me if the horizontal wood beam is level or pointed up or down at the nose wheel.

Mine flys smooth as long as you don't use too much throttle. Increasing throttle does not increase speed. It only affects altitude. Too much throttle and it will rock around. The more you over throttle it, the more wildly it will rock to disapate the unused power that it cannot convert. I have no problem at all with turning. It has always turned very well and will do a fun spiral straight down if held either full left or full right.
Let me know and I will compare your setting to mine. I did tear mine up a number of times before I figured it all out.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	80793_3328.jpg
Views:	185
Size:	62.9 KB
ID:	47668  
Old 05-26-2003, 01:02 AM
Homebrewer
My Feedback: (8)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback