Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

how to make engine look like new?

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

how to make engine look like new?

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2008, 03:24 PM
mxaexm

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default how to make engine look like new?

Is there any way to clean an engine so it will be silver again instead of brown/amber?

thx
Old 10-30-2008, 05:20 PM
Jetdesign
My Feedback: (8)

Default RE: how to make engine look like new?

There are a few methods to cleaning an engine - some include using Dawn Power Dissolver or a crock pot filled with antifreeze. Personally I have no experience with either of those methods, but what I have done to clean the outside of my engines is use 'dirty' fuel and a soft wire brush. When you fuel your plane, do you let the overflow come out and land on the ground? Great stuff to use for cleaning engine parts. Or, when my refillable bottle gets near the end I dump out the last oz or so (look inside, there's usually crap in it!) Again, great for cleaning engines.
Old 10-30-2008, 05:37 PM
da Rock

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

What he said............

And I've used Dawn. Even took it to the field and let everyone give it a shot. It works great.

I bought a brand new crock pot at Target for $8. Used straight anti-freeze I had in the garage. It works great. It's better suited to engines that're gummed up inside too. But both work great.

BTW, I bought a new crock pot at Target after turning down a used one at GoodWill for $10 that looked like someone had cleaned automobile engines in it. Wasn't even going to swing over to the Kitchenware aisle at Target after leaving GoodWill and seeing the price there. Figured a new one would cost more than I'd care to pay, and was planning to borrow a buddy's on the way home. But the wife wanted to look at pots and pans.

Old 10-30-2008, 05:41 PM
mxaexm