Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Gyro Use...........

Old 06-11-2003, 01:43 AM
norbe
My Feedback: (51)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Gyro Use...........

Hi,
I'm new in this hobby and there are a lot of things I still don't know how they work. I always read about the use of a gyro, now I do know the principals of how a gyro works, I had to learn it back when I got my pilot's license, but I don't seem to understand why and for what are they useful in a model aircraft. Could someone please explain me?
Old 06-11-2003, 01:50 AM
greenboot
My Feedback: (1)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

Gyros are not commonly used in planes. Rather RC helicopters use them to control the tail, making minor corrections to hold heading.

The gyro in inserted between the receiver and the rudder servo. Rudder commands are then "modified" by the gyro software before being sent to the servo. An auxillary channel is also used to send gain commands to the gyro itself.

Tom
Old 06-11-2003, 03:19 AM
upnflyin

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

Get yourself a FMA copilot setup. It will make you extremelly happy.They are worth every penny of what they cost.
upnflyin
Old 06-11-2003, 04:03 AM
norbe

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

Can you give me more info on this FMA copilot.... and I heard that they don't work if you perform acrobatics, is it true???
Old 06-11-2003, 11:06 AM
greenboot
My Feedback: (1)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

Does it work; yes. Intriguing; yes. Useful; no.

I have flown with a copilot but I just couldn't see the value of it. It doesn't replace an instructor since it can't takeoff or land the plane for you. It will just fly the plane in a straight line. Anyone able to takeoff can do that by themself.

Tom
Old 06-11-2003, 01:45 PM
norbe

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback