Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

smoke system questions

Reply

Old 06-24-2003, 11:46 PM
  #1  
TooLy
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
TooLy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Tel Aviv, ISRAEL
Posts: 900
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default smoke system questions

i would to ask you guys a few questions before i get a smoke system to my 72' katana with super tigre g-3250.
how do i control the smoke system from the remote control?
i have airtronics (sanwa) rd-6000 super.
what pitts muffler to use? bisson or slimline with the smoke version? also, what smoke system i should buy?
what i use in the smoke system tank?

thankyou.
TooLy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2003, 03:18 PM
  #2  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default smoke system questions

There are several smoke systems available. TME and slimline are two good ones. These are operated from a 5th channel on your radio.

With a Pitts style muffler, you need to tap the muffler near the engine exhaust port and add a pressure fitting to pump the oil into.

For oil, I use Ultrasmoke from Air Capital Hobbies. Their website is no longer available, and I don't have their phone # off hand, But I have heard great things about Liquid Paraffin which is available at restaurant supply stores.
MinnFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2003, 04:13 PM
  #3  
TooLy
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
TooLy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Tel Aviv, ISRAEL
Posts: 900
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default smoke system questions

Thanks MinnFlyer.
but how do i control about the amount of smoke?
TooLy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2003, 08:22 PM
  #4  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default smoke system questions

Make a little gizmo like this. Run the line between the pump and the muffler through it and adjust the screw to squeeze the tubing.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	89276_7722.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	8.5 KB
ID:	51585  
MinnFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2003, 09:06 PM
  #5  
TooLy
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
TooLy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Tel Aviv, ISRAEL
Posts: 900
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default smoke system questions

i meant from the remote control
TooLy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2003, 01:31 PM
  #6  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default smoke system questions

Originally posted by MinnFlyer
These are operated from a 5th channel on your radio.

MinnFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2003, 01:41 PM
  #7  
TooLy
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
TooLy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Tel Aviv, ISRAEL
Posts: 900
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default smoke system questions

this is my 5th channel, its a two way switch.
i can only turn the system off and on.
i understand that i can't control the amount off smoke from the remote control.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	89449_20805.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	14.9 KB
ID:	51586  
TooLy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2003, 01:47 PM
  #8  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default smoke system questions

Channel 5 turns the pump on and off. The amount of flow is regulated with the gizmo in Post #4. This is adjusted on the ground. Once it is adjusted, it doesn't need to be changed.
MinnFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2003, 01:50 PM
  #9  
TooLy
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
TooLy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Tel Aviv, ISRAEL
Posts: 900
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default smoke system questions

in the TOC videos i saw that when the model increase the throttle he also increase the smoke, is it a smoke pump with the same servo of the throttle?
TooLy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2003, 03:17 PM
  #10  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default smoke system questions

More than likely, the increase in smoke was due to the increase in muffler heat when the throttle was increased.
MinnFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2003, 12:53 PM
  #11  
cstevec
My Feedback: (1)
 
cstevec's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Grantsville, WV, VA
Posts: 1,753
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Controlling Smoke volume

In order to control the amount of smoke as you are indicating, you need to have the capability of mixing channels. You would slave channel 5 to your throttle channel (3) and then set it at say 50%. As you increase the throttle the smoke will increase and as you decrease the throttle the smoke decreases. Play with the %'s until you are getting the volume of smoke you want.
cstevec is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2003, 02:58 AM
  #12  
jmulder
Senior Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: conway, NC
Posts: 1,280
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default smoke system questions

It depends on what kind of smoke pump you are using. Some pumps only have two positions(on and off). Others are adjustable by the mixing functions.
jmulder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2003, 10:40 PM
  #13  
RCJones
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 466
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default smoke system questions

slimline makes a new all in one system ( battery, pump and controls) and the flow is controlled at the radio,
RCJones is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service