Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

switch/charge jack ?

Reply

Old 06-25-2003, 07:34 PM
  #1  
dan4466
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (68)
 
dan4466's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: perry, MI
Posts: 578
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default switch/charge jack ?

Anyone tell me if some switches will not allow you to discharge the battery with a battery recycler? I have the H9 Sure Cycle and when I hit the discharge button, the red ( discharge ) light comes on for a second than goes back to green for charge. Have never had this happen with this charger/recycler. Works great on the other two kinds of switches I am using. Unhooked battery and hooked up directly to the battery and it worked right. Yes, battery is charged. Showing 5.40 on my Digital Voltmeter. Otherwise, the switch is working fine. Cant remember, but I think it is a Du-bro.


Thanks, Dan
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	89267_1873.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	54.8 KB
ID:	51688  
dan4466 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2003, 08:43 PM
  #2  
big max 1935
Senior Member
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: huron s.d.
Posts: 2,050
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default switch/charge jack ?

Think you have a problem with switch assembly its self . The Du-Bro switch -jack is generic & has nothing to do with your problem. MAX H.
big max 1935 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2003, 10:36 AM
  #3  
Kaos Rulz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: BONAIRE, GA
Posts: 1,439
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default switch/charge jack ?

Make sure the switch is turned Off when you try to charge the battery. The harness, itself, is nothing but a holder and has no electrical properties that would interfere with charging.
Kaos Rulz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2003, 01:27 PM
  #4  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default switch/charge jack ?

Next time you push the button and get a green light, just leave it. Sometimes they will run through a charge cycle first, and THEN discharge.
MinnFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2003, 04:21 PM
  #5  
danny03
 
danny03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Muskogee, OK
Posts: 255
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default switch/charge jack ?

Originally posted by MinnFlyer
Next time you push the button and get a green light, just leave it. Sometimes they will run through a charge cycle first, and THEN discharge.
Minnflyer, I am curious why some cyclers would charge first before discharging?
danny03 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2003, 02:53 AM
  #6  
glowplug
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Weirton, WV
Posts: 1,860
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default switch/charge jack ?

I think Ed Stefan might have been onto something.....was the plane turned on?
glowplug is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2003, 03:14 PM
  #7  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default switch/charge jack ?

I don't know, but mine does.
MinnFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2003, 10:44 PM
  #8  
cootertwo
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Immokalee, FL
Posts: 163
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default switch/charge jack ?

Well, my cycler, (no names), is sensitive to the length of wire between it and the battery. Perhaps you have a slight resistance going through the charge/switch thingie, and when you connect directly to the battery, you're eliminating that.
cootertwo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2003, 06:18 AM
  #9  
dan4466
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (68)
 
dan4466's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: perry, MI
Posts: 578
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default switch

I had another switch laying around so I used it. I can discharge with it and it is the same switch. Tossed the other one. No use taking any chances. Thanks guys.

Dan
dan4466 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2003, 11:23 AM
  #10  
big max 1935
Senior Member
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: huron s.d.
Posts: 2,050
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default switch/charge jack ?

Cut the wires off your old switch , you can use them else ware & then there is no chance of using that switch by accident again. MAX H.
big max 1935 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2003, 11:10 PM
  #11  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default switch/charge jack ?

The only time I have ever seen this happen is with the switch on. Make sure it is off!
Geistware is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service