Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Mixing Automotive Paint?

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Mixing Automotive Paint?

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2003, 09:45 PM
highflyer353535
My Feedback: (3)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mixing Automotive Paint?

hi, i am new to automotive paint. i am aware of the safety percautions involved. need some help on mixing when it states mix 1 part of this and 2 parts of that what is a part equal to? are the parts pre measured? thank you
Old 07-01-2003, 10:08 PM
Murddoc

A part is whatever quantity that you desire. If you will need a pint of paint for your project, you can call a "part" 5 oz. Two parts "A" (10 oz) +one part "B"(5 oz)= 15 oz of mixed product.
Old 07-01-2003, 10:13 PM
MHawker
My Feedback: (16)

Another way to think about it is a part equals a certain measurement of the product. It could be a teaspoon, a cup, a quart, anything. So if you need to measure one part of "X" to two parts of "Y", You would mix twice as much "Y" as "X".

Make sense?
Old 07-02-2003, 12:23 AM
DBCherry
My Feedback: (4)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Just be careful of the units that the 'parts' are made up of. Sometimes they specify weight, sometimes volume. It CAN make a difference.
Dennis-
Old 07-02-2003, 01:22 AM
Walter D
My Feedback: (16)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

What kind of paint are you using? What brand?
I've used many paints from the automotive industry, like acrylic and synthetic enamels, urethanes and all these are not a problem to use and are not critical in the way they should be mixed with the reducer and/or the catalyst or hardener. I have a feeling that you are talking about epoxy paints, which do require close attention to the amounts mixed, but epoxies are not all that common in the automotive use.