Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Transporting a plane in a Car

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Transporting a plane in a Car

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2009, 05:25 PM
qwijybo

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Transporting a plane in a Car

Hello,

I am new to the hobby but my one problem these days is getting my plane to the field in my small car. It fits ok if I fold down the back seat but my probelm is this. How can I protect the plane from damage while I drive out there? I have already torn a couple small hole in the covering of the wing on different trips. Are there any products that I can use to protect the wing and plane or are there some home brew solutions to help out? My plane is a Kadet LT-40 and the car is a 98 Cavalier.
Old 10-19-2009, 05:45 PM
ChuckW

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Transporting a plane in a Car

My planes generally get more damage in storage and transport than when actually flying. You can try wrapping the wing and/ or fuselage in a blanket or something for protection. Another thing that is important is to keep the plane and other objects near it from moving and causing damage. Try some bungee cords, velcro, sand bag weights or whatever works to keep stuff from moving around and hitting other parts.
Old 10-19-2009, 06:19 PM
airbusdrvr

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

This was my solution. Bought it when it was nearly five years old with just 30,000 miles. [sm=shades_smile.gif]
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Gd93952.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	107.0 KB
ID:	1298247  
Old 10-19-2009, 07:14 PM
ro347
My Feedback: (13)

Keep sharp objects way from plane. Make your own wing bags using reflectix and duck tape. Its practically the same stuff they sell you as a pre-made wing bag...sold at Lowes.
Old 10-19-2009, 07:44 PM
red head

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts