Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Help with a new plane doing loops.

Reply

Old 07-02-2003, 05:48 PM
  #1  
Skyfoxx
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location:
Posts: 28
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Help with a new plane doing loops.

Hello,
I have a zen 30 with a .46 fx installed.
The plane flys great but when I do a loop the plane will go straight up and will not complete the loop. It will bail out.
Almost like it don't have enough power to flip the plane over a complete the loop???Any suggections
Skyfoxx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2003, 06:08 PM
  #2  
FLYBOY
My Feedback: (11)
 
FLYBOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Missoula, MT
Posts: 9,036
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Help with a new plane doing loops.

How is your center of gravity? Is the horezontal stab true with the wing? Is the wing straight? Thats where I would start looking. How much throw do you have in the surface?
FLYBOY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2003, 06:25 PM
  #3  
Skyfoxx
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location:
Posts: 28
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Help with a new plane doing loops.

I believe everything is good the wing is on straight...
The recomended elevator throw was 10 mm. I think I have 7-8 MM. Would the plane being tail heavy cause this???
Skyfoxx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2003, 08:27 PM
  #4  
FLYBOY
My Feedback: (11)
 
FLYBOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Missoula, MT
Posts: 9,036
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Help with a new plane doing loops.

If it was extremely tail heavy, it might, not enough throw might comboed with it. How does it fly other than that? WIll it loop if given more speed?
FLYBOY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2003, 10:48 PM
  #5  
Skyfoxx
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location:
Posts: 28
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Help with a new plane doing loops.

I have .46 on this thing and wow!!the power is there.. It is nice and quiet because i don't have to take the baffle for more power.
It is a very smooth flying plane. It is an ARF and with the big fx on the front there is some tail weight. When I bought the plane it had about 1 1/4 oz of weight in the tail because the previous owner had a .46 on it. When I install the fx, I had to add about 3/4 oz more to the tail. I did have a hard time balencing it. The CG was at 4.33in. If the nose is much heavier, should increase the elevator throw more than the recommended??
Any suggestions?????
Thanks!!!
Skyfoxx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2003, 11:18 PM
  #6  
David Cutler
Senior Member
 
David Cutler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,162
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Help with a new plane doing loops.

It sounds like you are experiencing a snap.

The most likely causes are - too much elevator movement or the two halves of the elevator aren't acting exactly together.

With a small aircraft like the Zen 30 it's amazing how small the elevator movement has to be to be adequate.

Watch for a similar snap if you make landing approaches too slow as well.

-David C.
David Cutler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2003, 01:48 PM
  #7  
Skyfoxx
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location:
Posts: 28
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Help with a new plane doing loops.

I did not think of that, I will have to check it out,
Thanks Dave
Skyfoxx is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service