Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Engine won't stay running

Reply

Old 07-18-2003, 04:27 PM
  #1  
Mr. Nitro
Member
Thread Starter
 
Mr. Nitro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Shrewsbury, WV
Posts: 57
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Engine won't stay running

I have a Thunder Tiger MKII Trainer with a GP .42 and when I start it it will run for about 5 seconds, sputter, and then die. Its practically a new engine, I've ran it only about 8 times, only two of those runs have been in the air. The last time I ran it was about 4 months ago and it ran fine. I drained all the gas out (ran it out of the carb too) and put a cap on the carb intake. It sounds like an air leak to me but I'm not sure. Where all do I check at on a plane? I race nitro cars and trucks and this is my first plane, so I don't know too much about them yet. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!

Justin
Mr. Nitro is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2003, 06:53 PM
  #2  
CCDave
My Feedback: (53)
 
CCDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 241
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Engine won't stay running

You did mention any troubleshooting you had tried so I'll start with the obvious...

First put in a new glow plug... A burnt glow plug can cause that.

Second... Make sure your Needle valve and fuel system is free of trash.

Third... Check your fuel... Is it old?

If you have tried all these things you could look for air leaks in your fuel system...

My guess is that if it isn't a bad plug you have trash in your fuel system.

Hope that helps!
CCDave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2003, 07:24 PM
  #3  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Engine won't stay running

It could be that the engine is running too rich or too lean. Do you need to prime it after each 5 second run?
MinnFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2003, 08:30 PM
  #4  
Mr_Scale
Senior Member
My Feedback: (7)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Seymour, IN
Posts: 372
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Engine won't stay running

Could be numerous things. All the above is good advise. Following is a simple way to check for an air leak. Remove the carb line and the pressure line if there is one. Plug one line or hemostat it closed. Pressurize the tank simply by blowing in the other line, then plug or clamp it. Let it set for about five minutes. Remove a plug or clamp, you should get a rush of air. If you do the tank is holding pressure, it not, you have a leak some where.
You may have contaminated fuel if it has been sitting for 4 months and not stored properly. I would suggest that if everything else checks out, get fresh fuel. Worse case you could have some rusted bearings or some other issue like that that would be hard to find. If all else fails send the motor to a service center.
Mr_Scale is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2003, 10:29 PM
  #5  
Mr. Nitro
Member
Thread Starter
 
Mr. Nitro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Shrewsbury, WV
Posts: 57
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Engine won't stay running

Thanks for the tips, actually the fuel is over a year old but it still burns great! I just went out and messed with it some more and once I get it started, if I keep blowing into the pressure line it will stay running, but as soon as I quit blowing into it, it dies. Definately sounds an air leak somewhere, but where do I check, I can't really see the tank without tearing the whole cockpit off but I will try your way, Mr_Scale

Thanks again,

Justin

P.S. I'll let you know what happens.
Mr. Nitro is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2003, 12:08 AM
  #6  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Engine won't stay running

Is the stopper on the tank at the center of the carburetor barrel.
Geistware is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2003, 01:10 AM
  #7  
Mr. Nitro
Member
Thread Starter
 
Mr. Nitro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Shrewsbury, WV
Posts: 57
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Engine won't stay running

Ok, thanks guys, I fixed the problem. The cap that screws onto the tank where the fuel line goes in was loose and the needle base on the carb was loose so I tightened them and fired it right up. She runs like a charm now!! Thanks again
Mr. Nitro is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service