Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Need help with dual aileron set up

Reply

Old 07-20-2010, 10:21 AM
  #1  
billberry189
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: ORLANDO, FL
Posts: 338
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Need help with dual aileron set up

I am building a sport/pattern type plane of my own design and for the first time I plan to use a dual aileron set up. My questions would be 1) what would be the optimum placement of the servos in relation to the wing LE and TE and wing root and tip, 2)I am using Futaba 3151 servos, R617 FS receiver and 7C 2.4 GHz transmitter and I need to know the best way to connect the servos to the receiver(ie- wire harness extension or Y harness, which channel or channels to connect to, and whether or not to use standard wire harnesses or HD wire harnesses. That should do it for now. Thanks!
billberry189 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 10:58 AM
  #2  
exnordel
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Melissa, TX
Posts: 40
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need help with dual aileron set up

I would use a channel for each aileron servo as that gives you maximum flexibility as far as programming. Depending on the length involved, a HD wiring harness is always preferred. If you are using strip ailerons then you need to locate the servo as close to the middle of the aileron as possible and contain it totally within the wing. The control linkage needs to be a short as possible.

Vince
exnordel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 11:28 AM
  #3  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need help with dual aileron set up

I disagree with some of what exnordel said:

Yes, HD extensions are preferable, but standard extensions will do fine.

You do NOT want the servo to be centered on the aileron, better to be about 1/3 out from the inboard side

Keep the servo as close to the TE as possible, while still having enough room to mount the servo flush inside the wing. Better to leave some breathing space for the servo than to try to get it as close to the TE as possible.

And finally, I would use a "Y" cord. I just like to keep things simple
MinnFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 12:02 PM
  #4  
BalsaBob
My Feedback: (24)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Barrington, NH
Posts: 1,036
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need help with dual aileron set up

Using a 'Y' cord/harness with a computer radio ..... when you have extra channels available ..... is so 1990's (or even 1980's). Put them on seperate channels and mix them ! You can then use the sub-trim feature (for each aileron) and it is easy to set up some aileron differential. Y harnesses are also a potential failure point.

Bob
BalsaBob is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service