Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

glow 4 stroke versus gas

Old 08-03-2010, 10:07 AM
dewald3@yahoo.com
My Feedback: (3)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default glow 4 stroke versus gas

I am new to hobby and so far have only purchased 7c futaba radio I plan on purcashing aarf trainer hobbistar 60 MK111. Since I have not puchased the engine yet should I go with the 4 stroke OS 91 pump or a gas engine ? If gas what make and size??? All help is appreciated
Don.

Old 08-03-2010, 11:35 AM
Charlie P.

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: glow 4 stroke versus gas

That's on the small end of gasoline engines. A Zenoah 20cc gas engine will be way more than you need for a .60 size trainer and is about the equivalent of a .90 2-stroke. RCGF, I think it is, has a 15 or 16cc that would be better size-wise but I don't know anything about one and have never seen one.
Old 08-03-2010, 11:53 AM
FallDownGoBoom
My Feedback: (1)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

Don:

Welcome to the wonderful world of RC flying.

Since you're new to this hobby, one thing I'd consider is the group of people you're flying with. You'll probably find a majority fly 2stroke and 4stroke motors, and a smaller fraction operate gas motors. So there's probably more help available for the nitro variety at your field.

Another factor in the decision is probably money. While a gas motor is cheaper to operate, they're more expensive (based on list cost comparisons). A small gasser is also heavier than the glow equivalents, which could lead to a balance and/or weight problem on the trainer. So I guess my not so subtle recommendation would be towards the nitro powered motor.