Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Monocote patch over Ultra coat

Reply

Old 08-15-2010, 08:41 AM
  #1  
Roo Man
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Roo Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lakeland FL
Posts: 561
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Monocote patch over Ultra coat

Can I use a small pc. [ 1" x 2"] Monokote patch on top of a small hole on my wing. If I can, do I se hot iron [setting?] or will the Windex application methgod work?

Don't want to buy a whole roll of white Ultrcoat for a very small hole. Packing tape on it now.

Gary
Roo Man is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 09:15 AM
  #2  
LesUyeda
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,670
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monocote patch over Ultra coat

I don't think you can do that. I have not been active in quite a while now, but as I recollect, Monokote is high temperature required, and Ultra Kote is low temperature.

Les
LesUyeda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 09:28 AM
  #3  
DavidAgar
My Feedback: (107)
 
DavidAgar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Battle Ground, WA
Posts: 5,019
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monocote patch over Ultra coat

The heat is an issue, but you can put your Monokote patch on with Windex. Just make sure that the area to be repaired is as clean as possible. Good Luck, Dave
DavidAgar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 09:33 AM
  #4  
Roo Man
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Roo Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lakeland FL
Posts: 561
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monocote patch over Ultra coat

Thanks for your information.

Will try the Windex method.

I just bought a Twist with Ultra coat and it has been in storage for quite some time and has several wrinkles in the covering. What temp should I use? I assume an iron is the best method especially if heat is an issue.

Gary
Roo Man is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 10:28 AM
  #5  
ChuckW
Senior Member
 
ChuckW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 5,165
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monocote patch over Ultra coat

I've done it when I was in a bind. The different shrinking temps could create an issue but not if you are careful. In fact, I sometimes like using Monokote as trim over Ultracoat because you can use windex or trim solvent.

Use the Windex like you mentioned and get the patch as smooth and tight as possible to begin with. After the Windex dries overnight, get your iron just hot enough to activate the Monokote adhesive and make sure it is stuck down. Then gradually turn you iron up to tighten the Monkote if it needs it.

ChuckW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 09:11 PM
  #6  
DavidAgar
My Feedback: (107)
 
DavidAgar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Battle Ground, WA
Posts: 5,019
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monocote patch over Ultra coat

If you are shrinking the Ultracoat, keep the heat at about 225 degrees. The Monokote will need about 300 to 325. As mentioned, when shrinking the Monokote on top of the Ultracoat, bring the temp up slowly. If all you are doing is removing a few wrinkles, you may want to consider a heat gun. Just slowly move the heat gun over the surface of the plane and the wrinkles will disappear. Good Luck, once again, Dave
DavidAgar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 07:40 AM
  #7  
Hewey19
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 64
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monocote patch over Ultra coat

Could you just use some trim sheet to patch it?
Hewey19 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 10:14 AM
  #8  
ForcesR
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON, CANADA
Posts: 760
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monocote patch over Ultra coat


ORIGINAL: Roo Man

Can I use a small pc. [ 1" x 2"] Monokote patch on top of a small hole on my wing. If I can, do I se hot iron [setting?] or will the Windex application methgod work?

Don't want to buy a whole roll of white Ultrcoat for a very small hole. Packing tape on it now.

Gary
Using Monokote over Ultracote is not a problem, your heating iron should be set from 275 to 300 degrees. Here is a picture of my H9 Spitfire, the lettering and white band on the tailare Monokote over top of the Ultracote. Monokote adheres very well to Ultracote.

Roger
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ol31447.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	67.7 KB
ID:	1485020  
ForcesR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 10:20 AM
  #9  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monocote patch over Ultra coat

If it's a small hole, after the area is CLEAN, just put a few drops of acetone on the area, place the patch and quickly squeegie out the excess. It will NEVER come off!
MinnFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 03:55 PM
  #10  
Roo Man
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Roo Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lakeland FL
Posts: 561
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monocote patch over Ultra coat

Thanks to all, acetone sounds like the way I will go.

Gary
Roo Man is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 11:14 PM
  #11  
DavidAgar
My Feedback: (107)
 
DavidAgar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Battle Ground, WA
Posts: 5,019
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Monocote patch over Ultra coat

Just make sure that there are no pilot lights around when you open the acetone. If there is, you may have a bigger hole to fix..... Dave
DavidAgar is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service