Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

What size spinner to use

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

What size spinner to use

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2018, 08:30 AM
Kenbob101

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What size spinner to use

Hi,
I am building a Skyline Breitling 540 1880mm. With a 110 eflite motor, 5 hitac servos, castle 100 w/bec ESC and AR6600T RX.
I currently have 2 - 3" spinners, but I don't think they will work with my 18 x 10 APC prop. Other than me having to drill out the mounting plate to 12 mm, It really doesn't give me enough room to cutout a space for the prop to fit without taking out one or two of the mounting holes of the cone. Should I go up to a 3.5 size spinner or larger? Or am I missing something here? I am new to building and the building instructions are vague at best and I had to get them off the internet as the plane did not come with build instructions.
I am almost done with the build, other than figuring out the tx mixing, spinner issue and ironing out some wrinkles in the skin.

Your help will be appreciated on my issue.

Thanks
Ken
Old 01-18-2018, 09:07 AM
daveopam
My Feedback: (9)

Received 42 Likes on 37 Posts

I think what you will find on most spinners is the openings will be to small for that big APC. I like to find the size that looks best on the plane and cut if need be. The exception would be a Tru - Turn spinner. They will cut the opening to fit your prop. I have good luck with the Dave Brown spinners from Tower. If I have to open them up I use a marker to mark both sides and carefully sand the opening bigger with a Dremel drum sander. Since this is an ALUM spinner you can use a prop balancer to re balance it when you finish.

David
Old 01-18-2018, 09:08 AM
daveopam

What mixing are you doing in the TX?

David
Old 01-18-2018, 10:01 AM
Kenbob101